Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

About Us: Education Program Faculty

Faculty from over 20 different Calvin departments teach courses covering subject area content and content pedagogy knowledge.

Program faculty are well-known for their teaching skills, leadership, research, and community involvement. Several successful grants have enabled our faculty to provide professional development to local teachers in the areas of mathematics, literacy, and science.

Teacher Education Program faculty also supervise field experiences and student teaching assignments in local Christian, public, and charter schools.

Faculty Member

Pedagogy Courses

Contact Information

Bakker, Deb EDUC 346, KIN 204 dbakker@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6222
Berghoef, Jack EDUC 303 jb44@calvin.edu
Bergsma, Jerry  EDUC 346, KIN 359 jbergsma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7026
Bergwerff, Ken 
SCES 122, 313, EDUC 345 
kbergwer@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6371
Bobeldyk, Rob EDUC 102 rbobeldy@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6837
Boerema, Al EDUC 302, 303 ajb37@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6036
Boerman, Lois CAS 214 ljb38@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7165
Bolt, Brian 
EDUC 346, KIN 204, 306, 359 
brb8@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6037
Bruxvoort, Crystal 
SCES 214, 314, 359 cb29@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6019
Day, Daniel EDUC 302 djd52@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8776
DeKleine, Sharon KIN 223 skd7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7049
DeVries, Rick EDUC 305, 345 redevrie@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7707
Fondse, Jerry EDUC 346 jfondse@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7186
Genzink, Jane EDUC 102, 345 jeg3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6205
Goetz, Peggy SPAUD 311 pgoetz@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8561
Greidanus, Nancy EDUC 345 ngreidanus@cs.com
(616) 243-6901
Hash, Phil 
EDUC 210, MUSC 239, 339, 359 pmh3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6022
Hettinga, Don ENGL 340, 341 hett@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6520
Hull, Nancy ENGL 340, 341 nhull@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6728
Jadrich, Jim 
SCES 121, 312, 313, PHYS 212
jjadrich@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6409
Joldersma, Clarence EDUC 398 cjolders@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6596
Keeley, John EDUC 303 jjk8@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6215
Keeley, Robert EDUC 102, 302, 309 rkeeley@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6816
Koole, Heather SPAUD 311 hkk3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7812
Koop, Jan 
MATH 221, 323, W80 
kooj@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6427
Kuyvenhoven, Jo 
EDUC 326 jck8@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7629
Pyper, Marcie 
IDIS 301, 356, 359 mpyper@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6356
Rooks, Jim EDUC 322 jrooks@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8694
Rysdam, Jen 
EDUC 322 jar26@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7632
Saupe, Karen 
ENGL 352 ksaupe@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6467
Schmidt, Gary 
ENGL 340 schg@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6540
Schoone-Jongen, Bob  HIST 359, IDIS 375
rps2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6395
Sevensma, Kara EDUC 202 kcs4@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6597
Sjoerdsma, Ron EDUC 307 sjoero@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6213
Smith, David  IDIS 357 dsmith@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8609
Steenstra, Tim EDUC 202 tjs32@calvin.edu
Stegink, Phil EDUC 202, 306, 312, 330, 347 pstegink@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6237
Talsma, Gary 
MATH 221, 222, 329, 359 
tals@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6422
Terpstra, Marj EDUC 102, 302, 303 mat7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6190
Thompson, Tom 
REL 357 thomto@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6429
VandenBosch, Jim 
ENGL 375
vand@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6592
Van't Hof, Ellen PER 150 evanthof@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6031
VanReeuwyk, Jo-Ann
ARTE 315, 316, 359, EDUC 210
jpv2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6331
Verwys, Susan EDUC 236, 238, 335, 337, 339, 343 skv5@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6509
Voetberg, Marji EDUC 202 mvoetb87@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8572
Walcott, John IDIS 205

jrw7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6032

Ward, Dean ENGL 350 ward@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6139
Warners, Amber KIN 223, 305, 359 awarners@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6223
Westbrook, Nalova EDUC 307 new133@psu.edu
Wilkins, Susan EDUC 345 swilkins@calvin.edu