Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

About Us: Education Program Faculty

Faculty from over 20 different Calvin departments teach courses covering subject area content and content pedagogy knowledge.

Program faculty are well-known for their teaching skills, leadership, research, and community involvement. Several successful grants have enabled our faculty to provide professional development to local teachers in the areas of mathematics, literacy, and science.

Teacher Education Program faculty also supervise field experiences and student teaching assignments in local Christian, public, and charter schools.

Faculty Member

Pedagogy Courses

Contact Information

Bakker, Deb EDUC 346, KIN 204, KIN 359 dbakker@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6222
Bergsma, Jerry  KIN 359 jbergsma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7026
Bergwerff, Ken 
SCES 121, 122, 312, 313 
kbergwer@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6371
Blankespoor, Curtis 
BIOL 212 
cblankes@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6498
Bobeldyk, Rob EDUC 102 rbobeldy@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6837
Boerema, Al EDUC 302, 303 ajb37@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6036
Boerman, Lois CAS 214 ljb38@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7165
Bronson, Melissa 
EDUC 330, 347 
mbrons27@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6201
Bruxvoort, Crystal 
SCES 122, 214, 314, 359 cb29@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6019
Bryant, Ashanti 
IDIS 205 ab44@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6205
Buursma, Debra 
EDUC 202 dbuursma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6231
DeKleine, Sharon KIN 223 skd7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7049
DeVries, Rick EDUC 102, 305, 345 redevrie@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7707
Eddie, Anissa EDUC 236 ala2@calvin.edu
Genzink, Jane EDUC 102, 345, MATH 323 jeg3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6205
Greidanus, Nancy EDUC 345 ngreidanus@cs.com
(616) 243-6901
Hash, Phillip 
EDUC 210, MUSC 239, 339, 359 pmh3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6022
Hettinga, Donald ENGL 340, 341 hett@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6520
Hull, Nancy ENGL 340, 341 nhull@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6728
Jadrich, Jim 
SCES 121, 122, 312, 313, PHYS 212
jjadrich@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6409
Joldersma, Clarence EDUC 398 cjolders@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6596
Keeley, Bob EDUC 102, 302, 303, 309 rkeeley@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6816
Koop, Jan 
MATH 221, 323, W80 
kooj@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6427
Kuyvenhoven, Jo 
EDUC 326 jck8@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7629
Lee, Youngkhill 
KIN 215 yl33@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6030
Pyper, Marcie 
IDIS 301, 356, 359 mpyper@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6356
Rooks, Jim EDUC 322 jrooks@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8694
Saupe, Karen 
ENGL 352, 359 ksaupe@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6467
Schmidt, Gary 
ENGL 340 schg@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6540
Schoone-Jongen, Bob  HIST 359, IDIS 375
rps2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6395
Sevensma, Kara EDUC 202 kcs4@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6597
Sjoerdsma, Ron EDUC 302, 303, 307 sjoero@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6213
Smith, David  IDIS 357 dsmith@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8609
Steenstra, Tim EDUC 202 tjs32@calvin.edu
Stegink, Philip EDUC 202, 306, 310, 312, 330, 347 pstegink@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6237
Talsma, Gary 
MATH 221, 222, 329, 359 
tals@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6422
Terpstra, Marj EDUC 102, 302, 303, W80 mat7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6190
Thompson, Tom REL 357 thomto@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6429
VandenBosch, Jim 
ENGL 372, 375
vand@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6592
Vander Lei, Elizabeth 
ENGL 351
bvlei@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6434
VanReeuwyk, Jo-Ann
ARTE 315, 316, 359, EDUC 210
jpv2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6331
Van't Hof, Ellen PER 150 evanthof@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6031
Verwys, Susan EDUC 236, 238, 335, 337, 339, 343, 344, 345 skv5@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6509
Visser, Deborah ENGL 341 djv46@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6933
Voetberg, Marji EDUC 202, 330, 347 mvoetb87@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8572
Vroon, Sandra EDUC 322, 326 svroon01@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6176
Walcott, John EDUC 302, 303, IDIS 205

jrw7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6032

Ward, Dean ENGL 350 ward@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6139
Warners, Amber KIN 223, 305, 359 awarners@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6223
Westbrook, Nalova EDUC 307, 322 new133@psu.edu
Wilkins, Susan EDUC 345 swilkins@calvin.edu