Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

About Us: Education Program Faculty

Faculty from over 20 different Calvin departments teach courses covering subject area content and content pedagogy knowledge.

Program faculty are well-known for their teaching skills, leadership, research, and community involvement. Several successful grants have enabled our faculty to provide professional development to local teachers in the areas of mathematics, literacy, and science.

Education Program faculty also supervise field experiences and student teaching assignments in local Christian, public, and charter schools.

Faculty Member

Pedagogy Courses

Contact Information

Bakker, Deb KIN 204, 223 dbakker@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6222
Bergsma, Jerry  KIN 305, 306, 359, EDUC 346 jbergsma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7026
Bergwerff, Ken 
SCES 121, 312, 313, EDUC 345 
kbergwer@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6371
Bobeldyk, Rob EDUC 102 rbobeldy@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6837
Boerema, Al EDUC 302, 303 ajb37@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6036
Boerman, Lois CAS 214 ljb38@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7165
Bronson, Melissa 
EDUC 330L, 347 
mbrons27@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6201
Bruxvoort, Crystal 
SCES 122, 314, 359, EDUC 346 cb29@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6019
Buursma, Debra 
EDUC 202 dbuursma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6231
DeVries, Rick EDUC 102, 305 redevrie@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7707
Freeberg, Debra CAS 214 freede@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7011
Genzink, Jane MATH 323, EDUC 345 jeg3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6205
Greidanus, Nancy EDUC 345 ngreidanus@cs.com
(616) 243-6901
Hash, Phillip 
EDUC 210, 346, MUSC W80, 239, 359 pmh3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6022
Hettinga, Donald ENGL 340, 341 hett@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6520
Jadrich, Jim 
SCES 121, 122, 214, 313, PHYS 212
jjadrich@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6409
Joldersma, Clarence EDUC 398, IDIS W61 cjolders@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6596
Keeley, John EDUC 303

jjk8@calvin.edu

Keeley, Bob EDUC 302, 303, 309 rkeeley@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6816
Koop, Jan 
MATH 221, 323 
kooj@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6427
Kuyvenhoven, Jo 
EDUC 326 jck8@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7629
Lee, Youngkhill 
KIN 215 yl33@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6030
Pyper, Marcie 
EDUC 346, IDIS 356, 359 mpyper@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6356
Rodriguez, Maria IDIS 301 mrodrigu@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8641
Rooks, Jim EDUC 102, 345 jrooks@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8694
Saupe, Karen 
EDUC 326, 346, 352, 359 ksaupe@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6467
Schmidt, Gary 
ENGL 340, 341 schg@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6540
Schoone-Jongen, Bob  EDUC 346, HIST 359, IDIS 375
rps2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6395
Sevensma, Kara EDUC 202 kcs4@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6597
Sjoerdsma, Ron EDUC 302, 303, 345 sjoero@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6213
Smith, David  IDIS 357 dsmith@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8609
Stegink, Philip EDUC 306, 310, 312, 330 pstegink@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6237
Talsma, Gary 
MATH 221, 222, 329, 359, EDUC 346
tals@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6422
Terpstra, Marj EDUC 302, 303 mat7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6190
VandenBosch, Jim 
ENGL 372, 375, EDUC 346
vand@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6592
Vander Lei, Elizabeth 
ENGL 351
bvlei@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6434
VanReeuwyk, Jo-Ann
ARTE 315, 316, 359, EDUC 210, 346
jpv2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6331
Van't Hof, Ellen PER 150, IDIS W54 evanthof@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6031
Verwys, Susan EDUC 236, 335, 339, 345 skv5@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6509
Voetberg, Marji EDUC 330L, 347 mvoetb87@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8572
Vroon, Sandra EDUC 336 svroon01@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6176
Walcott, John EDUC 102, 302, 303, W10, IDIS 205

jrw7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6032

Warners, Amber EDUC 346, KIN 223 awarners@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6223
Westbrook, Nalova EDUC 307, 322 new2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6028
Wilkins, Susan EDUC 345 swilkins@calvin.edu