Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Moodle: Request to purge a Master course T&L

NEW [May 6, 2013]: 

  • You DO NOT have to request your destination course be purged before you copy a course into it.
  • You will be able to "purge" the destination course as part of the backup and restore process.

Legacy documentation

Before you copy a semester course back into a Master or Master Collaborative (MC) course, you need to make sure the Master (or MC) course is empty. The only way for faculty to empty a course is to manually delete each item.

If you would rather not manually delete each item from a course, you can request CIT purge your course. This process includes CIT deleting the entire Master (or MC) course and re-creating a new (empty) MC the next time a system update runs.

If you want CIT to purge your course, please fill out the form below. Please be aware:

  • CIT will completely delete the courses you have listed below.
  • Once a course is deleted, it can never be restored.
  • Multiple instuctors own a Master Collaborative course and you are acting on behalf of those instructors.


Request to purge Moodle course(s)
First name: Last name:
Calvin username:
(jcalvin or jcc2)
Office phone: x

Course 1:


Course 2:



Course 3:


Course 4:




Note: Once your request is received, a member of the T&L team will manually enter your request within twenty-four hours. Once the request is entered, the system will update the request when the next update runs (either noon or midnight) depending upon when the request was entered by T&L. Requests may take up to thirty-six hours to be fully processed. Requests placed over the weekend will be processed Monday.

CIT will not notify you when your course has been purged; however, you can expect to see your new Master (or MC) course twenty-four to thirty-six hours after your request was made. If you do not see the new course after thirty-six hours, please contact the HelpDesk (x6-8555).