Fifth Biennial Symposium

on Religion and Politics

 

 

 The Henry Institute at Calvin College

April 23-25, 2009

Program Schedule

 

 

Thursday, April 23

 

Thursday, April 23                                                                         7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
            Reception

            Location:  Prince Conference Center Lobby

 

 

Friday, April 24

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                               8:45 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Panel 1A:  Initial Results of the 2009 Religion and Politics Clergy Survey

Location:  Willow East

Chair:         James Penning, Calvin College          penn@calvin.edu          

               

Technical Details of the Survey

                                Neil Carlson, Calvin College, Center for Social Research

                                nec4@calvin.edu

                               

Lutheran Church Missouri Synod

Jeff Walz, Concordia University – Wisconsin

Jeff.Walz@cuw.edu

Steve Montreal, Concordia University – Wisconsin

Steven.Montreal@cuw.edu

 

Disciples of Christ

Corwin Smidt, Paul B. Henry Institute at Calvin College

smid@calvin.edu

 

Christian Reformed Church

Jim Penning, Calvin College

penn@calvin.edu

Amanda Stek, Calvin College, Center for Social Research
als24@calvin.edu

 

 

Panel 1B:  Theological Reflections on Politics
Location:  Hickory Room

Chair:         James Slack, University of Alabama at Birmingham          jslack@uab.edu

 

The Political Life, Influence, and Philosophy of Theologian James Luther Adams

Jared A. Farley, Ohio University – Zanesville

farleyj@ohio.edu or drjaredfarley@aol.com

 

God Love You: Bishop Fulton J. Sheen, Religious Pluralism, and the American Political Foundation

   against Communism

James M. Patterson, University of Virginia

jmp3r@virginia.edu

 

Evangelical Synthesis: Carl F. H. Henry and John R. W. Stott on Church and State

Nicholas Pruitt, Baylor University

Nicholas_Pruitt@baylor.edu

 

 

Panel 1C:  Religion and Politics in Comparative Perspective

Location:  Willow West

Chair:        Robert DeVries, Calvin College          rdevries@calvin.edu

    

Christendom and Civil Society in Russia Since 1990

                                Stephen Hoffmann, Taylor University

                                sthoffmann@taylor.edu  

 

Northern Irish Catholic Dissenters

Roger Schlosser, Grand Rapids Community College

rschloss@grcc.edu

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                              10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

            Refreshment Break

            Location: Fireside Room

 

 


Friday, April 24                                                                              11:00 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

Panel 2A:  Society, Civil Rights and Gay Marriage
Location:  Willow East

Chair:         James Patterson, University of Virginia          jmp3r@virginia.edu

 

Natural Law, Gay Rights, and Religious Liberty

Gary Wood, Andrews University

gwood@andrews.edu

 

Society, Civil Morality, and Gay Marriage: What About the Kids?

Nicholas Miller, Andrews University
nmiller@freedom-law.com

 

Something Old, Something New: The Intersection of Civil Morality, Religion, and Gay Marriage in America

Jason Hines, Andrews University
hinesj@andrews.edu

 

 

 

Panel 2B:  Religious Groups in Public Life

Location: Hickory Room

Chair:       Jeff D. Tatum, Calvin College          jdt4@calvin.edu

 

Religious Groups in a Free Society

Kevin Pybas, Missouri State University

KevinPybas@MissouriState.edu

 

Fighting for God and/or Country?  Religious Identification and Beliefs in the U.S. Military

Lyman Smith, University of Florida

calvins9@ufl.edu

Charlotte E. Hunter, Defense Equal Opportunity Management Institute

charlotte.hunter@patrick.af.mil

 

Is the U.S. Constitution “godless” or God-blessed?  The Textual Evidence

Carl M. Dibble, University of Michigan – Dearborn

cmdibble@comcast.net

 

 


Panel 2C:  Islam and Contemporary Politics I
Location:  Willow West

Chair:         Naveed S. Sheikh, Keele University (UK)          Naveed.S.Sheikh4@nd.edu

 

State and Muslims in France: Secularism, Islamophobia, and the Headscarf Ban

Ramazan Kilinc, Michigan State University

kilinc@msu.edu

 

“Islamo-fascism” as an Ideological Discourse

Scott Hibbard, DePaul University

shibbar1@depaul.edu

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                              12:45 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.

            Lunch

            Location:  White Pine / Maple

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                                2:00 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.
Panel 3A:  Religion and American Partisan Politics                       
Location:  Willow East

Chair:         John Clark, Western Michigan University         john.clark@wmich.edu

 

The Effect of Religion on Presidential Primary Voting in the 2008 Election

                Leigh Bradberry, University of California, San Diego

                lbradber@ucsd.edu

 

The Changing Religiosity of the Democratic Party

Napp Nazworth, University of Georgia

nazworth@uga.edu

 

Jeering Jesus? Religion and Progressive Rhetoric, 1977-2000

Andrew L. Pieper, Kennesaw State University

APieper1@kennesaw.edu

 

 


Panel 3B:  Philosophical Reflections on Religion and Public Life

Location:  Hickory Room

Chair:         James K. A. Smith, Calvin College          jks4@calvin.edu

 

Hegel, Augustine, and the Limits of Sittlickheit

Geoffrey Holsclaw, Marquette University

geoffrey.holsclaw@marquette.edu

 

Christian Thought and Political Violence: Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s Dilemma with Violence

Stephen Millies, University of South Carolina, Aiken

stevenm@usca.edu

James D. Slack, University of Alabama at Birmingham

jslack@uab.edu

 

 

Panel 3C:  Islam and Contemporary Politics II
Location:  Willow West

Chair:         Scott Hibbard, DePaul University        shibbar1@depaul.edu

 

Breaking Away to Fight Another Day: Religious Fractionalization in Intrastate Conflict Parties

Jennifer G. Raymond, Georgetown University

jgr28@georgetown.edu

 

The Religious Ethics of Al-Qa’ida: Towards a Theory of Islamist Exceptionalism

                Naveed S. Sheikh, Keele University (UK)

                Naveed.S.Sheikh.4@nd.edu

 

Imagination and Exploration in Church and State Relations: Rowan Williams, Sharia, Social Space,

   Christianity and America

David Horstkoetter, Marquette University

david.horstkoetter@marquette.edu

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                              3:45 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.

            Refreshment Break

            Location: Fireside Room

 

 


Panel 4A: Institutional Effects of Religion on Politics      4:15 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Location:  Willow East

Chair:         Kevin Dougherty, Baylor University          Kevin_Dougherty@baylor.edu

 

The Emerging of House Church in Transitional China: Political Origin and Culture Dynamics

Zhifeng Zhong, Baylor University

zhifeng_zhong@baylor.edu

 

Rethinking Religious Markets: Individual Level Analysis

Joshua Bandoch, University of Notre Dame

jbandoch@nd.edu

Joseph Nawrocki, University of Notre Dame

joseph.nawrocki@gmail.com

Kevin B. Meme, University of Notre Dame

kevinmeme@gmail.com

 

Does Size Matter? Measuring the Effects of Congregational Size on the Political Relevance of Churches

Richard Ledet, University of Notre Dame

rledet@nd.edu

Kasey Swanke, University of Notre Dame

kswanke@nd.edu

 

 

Panel 4B:  Liberalism, Religion, and Politics
Location:  Hickory Room

Chair:        David A. Hoekema, Calvin College          dhoekema@calvin.edu

 

Beyond Secular Liberalism, Theological Traditionalism, and Incomplete Pragmatism

Thomas J. Bridges, Marquette University

thomas.bridges@marquette.edu

 

Sacrifice in a Secular Society

Eric Bain-Selbo, Western Kentucky University

eric.bain-selbo@wku.edu

 

Whig Calvinism? A Critical Response to Wolterstorff’s Justice

James K. A. Smith, Calvin College

jkasmith@calvin.edu

 

 


Panel 4C: The De-secularization of Russia: Patterns, Contradictions and Conflicts
Location:  Willow West

Chair:         Stephen Hoffman, Taylor University          sthoffmann@taylor.edu

 

The Patterns and Contradictions of Russia’s Desecularization

Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University

v.karpov@wmich.edu

Elena Lisovskaya, Western Michigan University

lisovskaya@wmich.edu

 

Orthodoxy, Islam and the Desecularization of Russian Public Schools

Elena Lisovskaya, Western Michigan University

lisovskaya@wmich.edu

Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University

v.karpov@wmich.edu

 

The Fusion of Religious and Ethnic Identities in Desecularizing Russia

Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University

v.karpov@wmich.edu

Elena Lisovskaya, Western Michigan University

lisovskaya@wmich.edu

David M. Barry, Western Michigan University

david.m.barry@wmich.edu

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                              6:15 p.m. – 7:45 p.m.

            Dinner

            Location:  White Pine / Maple

 

 

Friday, April 24                                                                              8:00 p.m.

Gatherings of Hope: Studying Clergy and Congregations in a Local Community

            Location:  Oak Room

 

 


Saturday, April 25

 

 

Saturday, April 25                                                                         8:45 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Panel 5A:  Religion, Spirituality, and Altruism

Location:  Hickory Room

Chair:       Mark Mulder, Calvin College          mtm3@calvin.edu

 

Religious, Spiritual, and Societal Forces of Altruism: Sorokin’s Theory and Contemporary Evidence

Yevgeniya Leont’yeva, Western Michigan University

yevgeniya.Leont’yeva@wmich.edu

Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University

v.karpov@wmich.edu

 

Religiosity, Spirituality, and Altruism in the United States: Findings from Survey Research

Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University

v.karpov@wmich.edu

Yevgeniya Leont’yeva, Western Michigan University

yevgeniya.Leont’yeva@wmich.edu

 

 

Panel 5B:  Religion, Civic Engagement, and Political Participation
Location:  Willow West

Chair:         Napp Nazworth, University of Georgia          nazworth@uga.edu

 

Sidelined by Religion? Community Involvement and Political Participation of U.S. Pentecostals

Kevin D. Dougherty, Baylor University

Kevin_Dougherty@baylor.edu

Fred J. DeJong, Grand Valley State University

dejongf@gvsu.edu

Rebecca L. Garofano, Calvin College

rebecca.garofano@gmail.com

Jessika I. Jamir, Calvin College

jij2@calvin.edu

Natalie J. Park, Calvin College

njp8@calvin.edu

Rebecca J. Timmermans, Calvin College

rjt5@calvin.edu

 

A Matter of Faith: Christian Participation in Social Movements 

Jeremy Castle, Hanover College

castlej10@hanover.edu

 

 

Saturday, April 25                                                                         10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

            Refreshment Break                                 

Location: Fireside Room

 

 

Saturday, April 25                                                                         10:30 a.m – 12:15 p.m.

Panel 6A:  Religion and Contemporary American Politics

Location:  Willow East

Chair:         Eric Bain-Selbo, Western Kentucky University          eric.bain-selbo@wku.edu

 

First Freedom or Politics: An Exploratory Analysis of The First Freedom Project

Jennifer E. Walsh, Azusa Pacific University

jwalsh@apu.edu

 

Evangelicalism, Public Policy, and the Hope for Racial Reconciliation: Opportunities and Obstacles

David K. Ryden, Hope College

ryden@hope.edu

 

The Rhetoric and Religion of Empire

Megan Marie, Calvin College

mm36@calvin.edu

 

 

Panel 6B:  Religion and Political History
Location: Hickory Room

Chair:       Bill Stevenson, Calvin College          stew@calvin.edu

 

The Squires of St. George: Mainline and Evangelical Support for George McGovern in 1972

Mark A. Lempke, University of Buffalo

mlempke@buffalo.edu

 

The Great Depression as Moral Failure: Presbyterian Industrialists and a Religious Rationale for

   Opposing the New Deal

Tyler Flynn, Eastern University

tflynn@eastern.edu

 

Christians, Seventh-Day Adventists and Nazis: Not Necessarily Antagonists

J. Harold Alomía, Andrews University

jhalomia@gmail.com

 

 

 


Panel 6C:  Religion and the AIDS Crisis
Location:  Willow West

Chair:        Dianne Slager, Calvin College          dslager@calvin.edu

 

The AIDS Evangelists: The Global Activism of U.S. Evangelicals and the Transformation of HIV/AIDS

Chan Woong Shin, Syracuse University

cshin@maxwell.syr.edu

 

Church Partnerships: An Essential Approach Towards Fighting HIV/AIDS in Ghana

Becky Bouman, Calvin College

rrb2@students.calvin.edu

 

Addressing HIV/AIDS Stigma Through the Pentecostal Church in Ghana

Katie Sytsema, Calvin College

kbs3@students.calvin.edu

 

 

Saturday, April 25                                                                         12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

            Lunch

            Location:  White Pine / Maple

 

 

Saturday, April 25                                                                         1:45 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.

Panel 7A: Religion and the 2008 Presidential Election

Location:  Willow East

Chair:         Corwin Smidt, Calvin College          smid@calvin.edu

 

Religion and the 2008 Presidential Primaries

                Douglas Koopman

                dkoopman@calvin.edu

 

Religion and the 2008 Fall Campaign

Corwin Smidt, Calvin College

                smid@calvin.edu

 

Religion and the 2008 Vote

James Penning, Calvin College

                penn@calvin.edu

 

 


Panel 7B: Religion, Policy Making, and Public Programs

Location:  Hickory Room

Chair:        Janel Curry, Calvin College          jcurry@calvin.edu

 

The Influence of Faith on Theories of Change and Outcome Measures in Religious

   Human Service Programs

Beryl Hugen, Calvin College

bhugen@calvin.edu

 

Linking Policy Making and Spiritual Capital: A Survey of Legislators’ Perspectives

Alain Noghiu, University of Delaware

alain@udel.edu

Tibor Toth, University of Delaware

tibi@udel.edu

Ismael Velasco, European Union Indicators

mayel.vel@gmail.com