Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Faculty Teaching Awards

2015 Teaching Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of the faculty teaching awards! Congratulations especially to Jo-Ann van Reeuwyk (Art), the recipient of the 2015 Presidential Award for Exemplary Teaching. Read more about Van Reeuwyk's career as a "Nurturer of Sacred Space."

Faculty responsibilities are multi-faceted. The following targeted-teaching awards have been established to allow the college to recognize the variety of contributions that faculty make to the Calvin College learning community.

Click on the any of the following headings below to view detailed information about the awards, such as: the purpose of the award, eligibility, past recipients, or nomination criteria.

For a quick summary of all the awards, please read Faculty Teaching Awards at a Glance

Presidential Award for Exemplary Teaching

The Presidential Award for Exemplary Teaching is testimony to the fact that the heart of a Christian liberal arts college is the teaching by its faculty, who embody the goals of forming the Christian mind and shaping students’ lives.

FEN Award for Excellence in Teaching

The annual From Every Nation Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes innovative and effective efforts Calvin College faculty to promote a multicultural, anti-racist curriculum.  It rewards the development and utilization of creative, original, effective teaching and materials that reflect any of the themes of FEN.

This year's recipients are Marilyn Bierling (Spanish) and Elisha Marr (sociology).

Innovative Teaching Award

The Innovative Teaching Award recognizes and encourages faculty members who have contributed significant, creative teaching innovations and strategies that promote effective and deeper learning.

This year's recipient is David Koetje (biology).

Advising and Mentoring Award

The Advising and Mentoring Award recognizes and affirms the significant role of faculty advising and mentoring in forming the minds and shaping the lives of students.

This year's recipient is Peter Tigchelaar (biology).

Student-Faculty Research Award

The Student-Faculty Research Award recognizes a Calvin faculty member with an outstanding record of working with student collaborators in his or her professional research and scholarship.

This year's recipient is Jason Van Horn (geography).

Community-Based Teaching Award

The Award for Community-Based Teaching recognizes faculty members who have pursued significant academic community engagement that promotes effective learning in partnership with the church, community organization, agency, or business.

This year's recipients are Kurt VerBeek and JoAnn VanEngen (both sociology).

Collaborative Change Award

The Collaborative Change Award recognizes positive effects that teams of colleagues have on shaping professional academic culture of Calvin. The award will be given to those who envisioned and developed the program as well as those who have served as teaching fellows over the years:  Claudia Beversluis, Bruce Berglund, Martin Bolt, Crystal Bruxvoort, Kristin DuMez, Herb Fynewever, Jennifer Holberg, Jim Jadrich, Irene Konyndyk (now emerita), Mike Stob, Jo-Ann Van Reeuwyk, Julie Walton, Dean Ward.