Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Faculty Senate

Senate Roster, 2016–2017

Department/Division Term Ending 8/31/17
Department/Division Term Ending 8/31/18
Department/Division Term Ending 8/31/19

Ex officio Members

Michael Le Roy, President
Cheryl Brandsen, Provost
Stan Haan, Academic Dean
Elizabeth Vander Lei, Academic Dean


Chair: Michael Le Roy
Vice Chair: Jennifer Holberg
Secretary: Otto Selles
Parliamentarian: Robert Keeley

Note: Staggered three-year election cycles are assigned to departments/divisions and not necessarily to their respective senators, who might serve during only part of a cycle.

Department/Division Term Ending 8/31/17

Department Representatives This Year

Wayne Wentzheimer (Engineering; fall)
Robert Hoeksema (Engineering; spring)
Kaori Schau (Germanic and Asian Languages)
Jerry Bergsma (Kinesiology)
Mary Flikkema (Nursing; fall)
Jaclyn Lubbers (Nursing; spring)
James K. A. Smith (Philosophy)
Paul Harper (Physics and Astronomy)
Blake Riek (Psychology)
Todd Vanden Berg (Sociology and Social Work)
Peggy Goetz (SPAUD)

Division Representatives

Bob Keeley (ALE)
Jennifer Van Antwerp (NSM)

At-Large Faculty

Tracy Kuperus
Tom Steenwyk

Vice Chair

Jennifer Holberg

Student Senate Representatives

Billy Fredericks
Hallie Litt
Christian Rodriguez

Department/Division Term Ending 8/31/18

Department Representatives This Year

Jo-Ann Van Reeuwyk (Art and Art History)
David Dornbos (Biology)
Peter Snyder (Business)
Pat Bailey (Computer Science)
Adel Abadeer (Economics; fall)
Roland Hoksbergen (Economics; spring)
Otto Selles (French)
Christopher Moseley (Mathematics and Statistics; fall)
Michael Bolt (Mathematics and Statistics; spring)
Tim Steele (Music)
Ken Pomykala (Religion; fall)
Richard Whitekettle (Religion; spring)
Scott Lamanna (Spanish; spring)
Alisa Tigchelaar (Spanish; fall)

Division Representatives

Brian Cawley (SSCD)

Administrators with Faculty Status

Neil Carlson

At-Large Faculty

Joe Kuilema
Dwight TenHuisen

Department/Division Term Ending 8/31/19

Department Representatives This Year

Kathi Groenendyk (CAS)
Mark Muyskens (Chemistry)
David Noe (Classics)
John Walcott (Education)
Gary Schmidt (English)
Jamie Skillen (GEO)
Eric Washington (History)
Mikael Pelz (Political Science)

Division Representatives

Mark Williams (ALE)
Lissa Schwander (SSCD)
Laura DeHaan (NSM)

Administrators with Faculty Status

Christina Edmondson

At-Large Faculty

Debra Freeberg
Cynthia Slagter


Senate agenda and minutes are not posted online. They are available on the college's secure network drives at

Read the faculty handbook


SSCD = Social Sciences and Contextual Disciplines

ALE = Arts, Languages, and Education

NSM = Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Note: Term lengths are associated with departments and divisions, not with individual senators.