Calvin College Van Lunen Center

The Van Lunen Center
Raybrook Office Suite 201
Calvin College
3201 Burton St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546

Phone: (616) 526-8300
Fax: (616) 526-8302

2014-2015 Faculty & Staff

Director of the Van Lunen Center: James C. Marsh, Jr. served as Head of School at Westminster Christian Academy in St. Louis, Missouri for twenty-eight years before stepping down in July, 2013. He is a product of Christian elementary and secondary schools in northeastern New Jersey. Jim earned his BA in Education from Calvin College, and subsequently his MEd in Educational Leadership from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida. He has served as Board President of Christian Schools International (Grand Rapids, MI), member of the board of directors of Independent Schools Association of the Central States (Chicago, IL), and board member and president of Independent Schools of St. Louis. Jim has been a member of the faculty of the Van Lunen fellows program since it began in 2007. He is also a contributing author of the book Schools as Communities (James L. Drexler, Editor).

Mr. James C. Marsh

Mr. James Marsh


Van Lunen Center


Dr. David Hahn

Dr. David Hahn

Head of School

Long Island Lutheran


Dr. Bruce Hekman

Dr. Bruce Hekman



Ms. Christine Metzger

Ms. Christine Metzger



Ms. Yvonne Ferwerda

Ms. Yvonne Ferwerda

Program Coordinator,
Van Lunen Center



Van Lunen Director and Faculty Alumni

Founding Director: Dr. Shirley Roels, Senior Advisor of NetVUE, Council of Independent Colleges

Faculty Alumni:

Ms. Ellen Bartel, President, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School

Dr. John Blumenstein, Head of School, Cambridge School

Ms. Mona Faulkner, Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Roman Catholic Diocese of Fresno

Dr. Byrle Kynerd, Director of Board Directed Ministries, Briarwood Presbyterian Church, PCA