Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content


No comments

Women’s Tennis Falls in MIAA Tournament Finals - Oosterhouse Named Sue Little Sportsmanship Winner

Saturday, May 02, 2009

Posted by

Calvin/Hope Box Score

KALAMAZOO – For the second consecutive year, Calvin’s bid for an MIAA Tournament title and a trip to the NCAA III Tournament came up just short as the Knights were defeated by rival Hope 5-4 in the MIAA Tournament Championship final. The victory was the 14th straight for Hope which claimed the outright league championship with the win along with the league’s NCAA III Tournament bid. It also marked Hope’s second 5-4 win over Calvin this year.

Calvin trailed 2-1 out of doubles play with Calvin winning at No. 1 doubles behind the play of sophomores Melissa Oosterhouse (Grand Rapids Christian HS) and Kaitlin Spoelhof (Holland Christian HS) while Hope won at No. 2 and No. 3 doubles. Hope’s win at No. 2 doubles was a key point as the Flying Dutch won 9-8 including 7-5 in the tiebreaker.

In singles play, Calvin picked up wins from Oosterhouse at No.1 singles, Spoelhof at No. 2 singles and junior Rachel Strikwerda (Holland Christian HS) at No. 4 singles.

Hope gained wins at No. 3, No. 5 and No. 6 singles however with all three victories coming in three sets.

Calvin ends its season at 13-8 overall and in second place in the final MIAA standings.

At the conclusion of the tournament, the post-season All-MIAA awards were announced and Oosterhouse and Spoelhof were named to the All-MIAA first team while junior Elisabeth Geenen (Holland Christian HS) was named to the All-MIAA second team. It marks the first All-MIAA appearance for Spoelhof and the second straight appearance for Oosterhouse.

In addition, Oosterhouse was named the recipient of the MIAA’s Sue Little Sportsmanship Award, becoming the eighth individual from Calvin to receive the honor and the first since Alison DeWys was so honored in 1998.


Ardie DeVries, 1961
Karen Timmer, 1963
Jane Huizenga, 1974
Diane Lane, 1975
Jan Boerema, 1983 & 1984
Debbie Pettinga, 1993
Alison DeWys, 1998
Melissa Oosterhouse, 2009

Posted in: Women's Tennis
No comments on "Women’s Tennis Falls in MIAA Tournament Finals - Oosterhouse Named Sue Little Sportsmanship Winner"