Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content


No comments

Melissa Oosterhouse Named NCAA III Women’s Tennis Elite 88 Award Recipient

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Posted by

FREDRICKSBURG, VA - The National College Athletic Association (NCAA) has announced Calvin College junior Melissa Oosterhouse (Grand Rapids/Grand Rapids Christian HS) is the recipient of the Elite 88 for Division III women’s tennis.

Oosterhouse is the first individual to receive the award and the second MIAA athlete to be so honored. Kellen Beckwith of Olivet College received the award in men’s swimming and diving this past March.

The Elite 88, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 88 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average (GPA) participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 88 championships.

This is the first year that the Elite 88 Award has been presented to student-athletes.

Oosterhouse was announced as the recipient in NCAA III women’s tennis during a banquet hosted by Mary Washington University preceding the NCAA III Singles Tournament which is slated to begin Friday morning.

A biology major with minors in chemistry and Spanish, Oosterhouse carries a 3.92 grade point average. Last week, she was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District team in the women’s college at-large division.

During the 2009-10 season, Oosterhouse has compiled a singles record of 25-1 including 23-0 in dual match play. Earlier this month, Oosterhouse was named to the All-MIAA first team for a third straight year and was also voted the MIAA’s Most Valuable Player.

Oosterhouse will open play in the NCAA III Singles Tournament tomorrow morning against Lorne McManigal of Emory University in a first round match.

No comments on "Melissa Oosterhouse Named NCAA III Women’s Tennis Elite 88 Award Recipient"