Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content


No comments

Francesca Smith and Danielle Carter Receive NSCAA Division III All-Central Region Honors

Wednesday, December 05, 2012

Posted by

NSCAA Division III All-Central Region Teams

Two members of the Calvin women’s soccer team have received Division III All-Central Region honors from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. Senior Francesca Smith has been named to the Division III All-Central Region second team while junior Danielle Carter has been named to the third team.

A midfielder, Smith hails from Bloomington, Indiana. She is a graduate of Bloomington South High School. She is receiving all-region honors for the second time as she was a third team all-region choice in 2010.

This fall, Smith tallied five goals, five assists and 15 points while landing a spot on the All-MIAA first team for the third straight year.

A four-year starter in midfield, Smith accumulated 18 goals and 20 assists during her Calvin career for a total of 56 points.

A native of DeWitt and a graduate of DeWitt High School, Carter was also a part of Calvin’s midfield attack this fall. She tallied a career-high eight goals this fall while also assisting on four others. Of her eight goals, four were game-winners including an overtime strike in a 1-0 win at Saint Mary’s in September and a memorable score with just one second left in the first overtime of a 2-1 win over Hope in the MIAA Tournament final.

Carter was also named to the All-MIAA first team this fall. Heading into her senior year of play, she has amassed 15 goals, eight assists and 38 points.

Under the direction of head coach Mark Recker, Calvin recorded an overall record of 16-5-1 this fall that saw the Knights capture MIAA regular season and MIAA Tournament crowns. Calvin then advanced to the NCAA III Tournament for the seventh time in eight years, upsetting nationally-ranked Aurora in the first round before bowing to Loras in the second round.


1993 Kristin Penzotti (2nd Team), Kendra Douma (3rd Team)
1994 Kristin Penzotti (2nd Team)
1995 Tara Dyk (1st Team), Cindy Feinauer (2nd Team), Erin Henkel (3rd Team)
1996 Cindy Feinauer (1st Team), Cara Jansen (3rd Team), Tara Dyk (3rd Team)
1997 Tara Dyk (1st Team), Amber Wiersma (1st Team), Cara Jansen (2nd Team)
1998 Tara Dyk (1st Team), Cara Jansen (2nd Team)
2000 Tricia Dyk (2nd team)
2001 Tricia Dyk (2nd team)
2002 Tricia Dyk (3rd team), Kristin Carlson (3rd team)
2003 Sarah Weesies (3rd team)
2005 Jill Capel (3rd team)
2006 Jill Capel (1st team), Sarah Weesies (1st team), Elizabeth Ribbens (3rd team)
2007 Ashley Bolen (3rd team)
2008 Elizabeth Ribbens (2nd team) Kayla Sulzer (3rd team)
2009 Emily Ottenhoff (1st team), Carly Prins (1st Team), Allison Boender (1st Team)
2010 Carly Prins (1st team), Francesca Smith (3rd team)
2011 Francesca Smith (2nd team), Danielle Carter (3rd team)

Posted in: Women's Soccer
No comments on "Francesca Smith and Danielle Carter Receive NSCAA Division III All-Central Region Honors"