Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content


No comments

Calvin Lands Four on NSCAA Division III All-Central Region Men’s Soccer Teams

Thursday, December 06, 2012

Posted by

NSCAA Division III All-Central Region Men's Soccer Teams

Four members of the Calvin men’s soccer team have received Division III All-Central Region honors. Those four individuals are seniors Nick Holtrop, Joe Broekhuizen and Dan Nederhoed and sophomore Travis Vegter. Holtrop has been named to the All-Central Region first team while Broekhuizen has been named to the second team and Nederhoed and Vegter to the third team.

Holtrop and Nederhoed are receiving all-region accolades for the second straight year while Broekhuizen and Vegter are being so honored for the first time.

This year, Holtrop collected four goals, seven assists and 15 points in helping lead Calvin to an unprecedented sixth consecutive MIAA regular season title this fall along with an MIAA Tournament title and a sixth straight trip to the NCAA III Tournament. Earlier this fall, Holtrop was named the MIAA’s Most Valuable Player. He also landed a spot on the All-MIAA first team for the second straight year. Over the course of his four-year career at Calvin, Holtrop was credited with 11 goals and 18 assists while serving as a center midfielder.

A forward, Broekhuizen hails from Grand Rapids and is a graduate of Grand Rapids South Christian High School. A member of the 2012 All-MIAA first team, Broekhuizen led Calvin’s offensive attack this fall with 13 goals, six assists and a team-leading 32 points. Of his 13 goals, four were game-winners including an early score in a 3-0 win over Olivet in the 2012 MIAA Tournament finals and a second-half goal in a 2-1 home victory over rival Hope. Over the course of his Calvin career, Broekhuizen tallied 25 goals and 11 assists for 61 points.

A defender, Nederhoed hails from Kentwood and is a graduate of East Kentwood High School. He was also named to the NSCAA All-Central Region third team in 2011. A four-year starter on Calvin’s defensive backline, Nederhoed was named to the All-MIAA first team this fall.  He played an integral role in 49 defensive shutouts during his career including seven this season.

He was also credited with five assists during his career including one this fall.

Vegter is from Hudsonville and is a graduate of Hudsonville Unity Christian High School. A forward, Vegter scored 11 goals along with six assists and 28 points this year. Three of his goals were game-winners and all three came in memorable fashion. His first game-winner came in a 2-1 overtime victory over Trine in mid-September. He then scored the only goal in a 1-0 win at rival Hope on September 26. In the MIAA Tournament semifinals against Kalamazoo on November 1, he scored with just over a minute left in the second overtime session to lift the Knights to a 1-0 victory.

Calvin finished the 2012 season with an overall record of 16-4-1 and a league record of 12-1-1.  The Knights captured their sixth consecutive MIAA regular season title during the year and also won the MIAA Tournament title and gained a bid to the NCAA III Tournament.


1963 Roberto Wolf
1969 Robert Dykstra
1971 Jim Johnson
1972 Jim Johnson
1978 Mark Recker
1979 Mark Recker
1981 Doug DeSmit
1982 Doug DeSmit
1983 Doug DeSmit
1984 Dave Lindner, Ken Lodewyk
1985 Dave Lindner, Randy DeJong, Bert Bowden
1987 Bert Bowden, Mark Hendriks, Dave Fasold
1989     Joe Barone, David Stokes, Ed Wilgenberg
1991       Joe Barone, Todd Veenhuis
1993     Trevor Schuurman
1994 Kevin Sowles
1996 Steve Wiegers
1998 Mark Lindner, Marcus Byeman
1999 Todd Folkert, Marcus Byeman
2000       Marcus Byeman, Jason DeJonge
2002 Joel Veldhouse
2003 Joel Veldhouse, Kurt Visker, Joel Vande Kopple
2004     Joel Veldhouse, Kurt Visker, Joel Vande Kopple, Joe Westra
2005                         Kurt Visker, Peter Malefyt, Nick Capisciolto
2006 Maurice Wright
2007 Nick Capisciolto, A.J. Dufendach
2008 Greg Snapper, Scott Hooker
2009   Greg Snapper, Luke Holtrop, Alex McKenzie, Dan Kmetz, Scott Hooker
2010 Ryan Bratt, Scott Hooker, Miles Colago
2011 Miles Colago, Zach Willis, Nick Holtrop, Dan Nederhoed
2012 Nick Holtrop, Joe Broekhuizen, Dan Nederhoed, Travis Vegter

No comments on "Calvin Lands Four on NSCAA Division III All-Central Region Men’s Soccer Teams"