2009-2010

Mucca PazzaMucca Pazza

Mon, Sep 7; 8:30pm, Veenstra Lawn
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Jayber CrowCAVE CAFE: Jayber Crow

Tue, Sep 8; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Movie: The SoloistMovie: The Soloist

Fri, Sep 11 or Sat, Sep 12 (opposite Celebration on the Grand fireworks)
7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Caleb HawleyCAVE CAFE: Caleb Hawley

Tue, Sep 15; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

The BooksThe Books

with Lymbyc Systym
Fri, Sep 18; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID
SOLD OUT!

Michael Jackson DanceMichael Jackson Dance

Sat, Sep 19; 9pm, Johnny's Plaza
FREE!

David DarkDavid Dark

Co-sponsored by CAS
"Insert Your Soul Here"
Mon, Sep 21; 3:30pm, Meeter Center --FREE!

"Don't Believe Everything You Breathe"
Mon, Sep 21; 7:00pm, Ladies Lit -- FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Hudson BranchCAVE CAFE: Hudson Branch

Tue, Sep 22; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Techno Dance

Fri, Sep 25; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

The New MidwestMade in Michigan: Local artist showcase

The New Midwest, Ben Scott-Brandt, AG Silver
Sat, Sep 26; 8pm, Ladies Lit
FREE!

Do You Hear What I Hear?Do You Hear What I Hear?

Music listening: Now Ensemble and St. Vincent
Mon, Sep 28; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Open MicCAVE CAFE: Open Mic

Tue, Sep 29; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Stop Child Trafficking Now walk/film

Co-sponsored by Social Justice Committee
Fri, Oct 2; 8pm, Ladies Lit
FREE!

Knit-a-square: Purl Jam

Co-sponsored by International Health and Development Club
Sat, Oct 3; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Double feature!

Two independent films
Wed, Oct 6; 7pm, UICA
FREE!

Poetry JamPoetry Jam

Part of UnLearn Week
Thu, Oct 7; 9pm, Fish House
FREE!

Movie: Gran TorinoMovie: Gran Torino

Part of UnLearn Week
Fri, Oct 9; 7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

WaterdeepWaterdeep

with Justin McRoberts
Sat, Oct 10; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

CAVE CAFE: Shane Tripp & Chris BathgateCAVE CAFE: Shane Tripp & Chris Bathgate

Tue, Oct 13; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Donald Miller: A Million Miles TourDonald Miller: A Million Miles Tour

with Susan E. Isaacs
Co-sponsored by Campus Ministries
Tue, Oct 13; 7pm, Hoogenboom Center
$12 public; $3 w/ Calvin ID

Rosie ThomasRosie Thomas

featuring a showing of "All the Way from Michigan Not Mars"
Fri, Oct 16; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
SOLD OUT!

FILM: At the End of SlaveryFILM: At the End of Slavery

Sat, Oct 17; 8pm, TBD
FREE!

Creation Festival: The TourCreation Festival: The Tour

Jars of Clay, Thousand Foot Krutch, Audio Unplugged
with B. Reith, This Beautiful Republic & FM Static

Mon, Oct 19; 7pm, Hoogenboom Center
$35 VIP; $20 public; $10 w/ Calvin ID
Conversation w/ Jars of Clay: 2:30pm, Hoogenboom 280

CAVE CAFE: Zach VinsonCAVE CAFE: Zach Vinson

Tue, Oct 20; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Samantha Crain & the Midnight ShiversSamantha Crain & the Midnight Shivers

with Katy Bowser, Kenny Hutson and Jake Bradley
Fri, Oct 23; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Do You Hear What I Hear?Do You Hear What I Hear?

Music listening: Elliott Carter and Battles
Mon, Oct 26; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Zach VinsonCAVE CAFE: Open Mic

Tue, Oct 27; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Great Lake SwimmersGreat Lake Swimmers

with The Wooden Birds
Fri, Oct 30; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Masquerade Dance

Co-sponsored by Student Senate and Ballroom Dance Club
Sat, Oct 31; 8pm, Spoelhof Sports Complex Lobby
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: The Prayers & Tears of Arthur Digby SellersCAVE CAFE: The Prayers & Tears of Arthur Digby Sellers

with Valentiger
Tue, Nov 3; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

The Mountain GoatsThe Mountain Goats

with Final Fantasy
Wed, Nov 4; 8pm, Ladies Lit
SOLD OUT!

Fogged ClarityFogged Clarity

Samantha Farrell & Strand of Oaks with White Pines
Sat, Nov 7; 7:30pm, Wealthy Theatre
$15 public; $10 student

CAVE CAFE: Half-Handed CloudCAVE CAFE: Half-Handed Cloud

Thu, Nov 12; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Purl Jam: Knitting Circle

Sat, Nov 14; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: You and Yourn & RolandCAVE CAFE: You and Yourn & Roland

Tue, Nov 17; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

FILM: Nosferatu - Live music by Blue DahliaFILM: Nosferatu - Live music by Blue Dahlia

Co-sponsored by CAS Department (Film Studies)
Fri, Nov 20; 8pm, Ladies Lit
FREE!

FILM: Star TrekFILM: Star Trek

Sat, Nov 21; 7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Open MicCAVE CAFE: Open Mic

Tue, Nov 24; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Do You Hear What I Hear?Do You Hear What I Hear?

Music listening
Mon, Nov 30; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Battle of the Bands!CAVE CAFE: Battle of the Bands!

Tue, Dec 1; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Jessica HopperJessica Hopper

The Feminist perspective as a means of discerning new truths in music criticism
Wed, Dec 2; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium -- FREE!

The Girls' Guide to Rocking: Book reading + Q&A
All ages and genders encouraged to attend for theoretical and practical advice about starting a band!
Wed, Dec 2; 7:00pm, Ladies Lit -- FREE!

Purl Jam: Knitting Circle

Wed, Dec 2; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

FILM: Miss HIV

Co-sponsored with the Sexuality Series
Thu, Dec 3; 8pm, Bytwerk Video Theater
FREE!

WPAWPA

with Ralston Bowles
Fri, Dec 4; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

FILM: UpFILM: Up

Sat, Dec 5; 7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Samuel Lee, Becky Kim & Carrie Bensfield w/ Jeff LiCAVE CAFE: Samuel Lee, Becky Kim & Carrie Bensfield w/ Jeff Li

Tue, Dec 8; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Judy Collins & FriendsJudy Collins & Friends

A benefit concert for Ralston Bowles
with special guests Kenny White, Ralston Bowles and Amy Speace

Thu, Dec 10; 8pm, Chapel
$40 VIP; $25 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Dance Duo

Co-sponsored by Student Senate
Fri, Jan 8; 8pm, Fieldhouse Lobby and Dance Room
FREE!

FILM: District 9FILM: District 9

Sat, Jan 9; 7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Benjamin Ripley & Two Ton TyrantCAVE CAFE: Benjamin Ripley & Two Ton Tyrant

Tue, Jan 12; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

The Dutchess & the DukeThe Dutchess & the Duke

with Medication
Thu, Jan 14; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Let's get crafty!

Fri, Jan 15; 8pm, Knollcrest Room
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: ElleryCAVE CAFE: Ellery

Thu, Jan 21; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Wake Up WeekendWake Up Weekend

Fri, Jan 22 & Sat, Jan 23 -- FREE!

Featuring:
Bryant Terry's Vegan Soul Kitchen
Fri, Jan 23; 11:00am, Brick Road Pizza -- FREE!

The New MidwestThe New Midwest

CD Release Show: Commonwealth, Feed People

Special guests include Randy Smit (poet), Calvin College Gospel choir, David Molinari, Josh Rose, and Steve DeRuiter
Sat, Jan 23; 7pm, Ladies Lit
Bring nonperishable food to get in FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Eric PetersCAVE CAFE: Eric Peters

Mon, Jan 25; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

James BlackshawJames Blackshaw

and Jon Mueller (of Volcano Choir)
Fri, Feb 5; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Settlers of Catan tournament

Co-sponsored by the Tabletop Role-playing Guild
Sat, Feb 6; 6:30pm, Fish House
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Kelsey Rottiers & Doug MainsCAVE CAFE: Kelsey Rottiers & Doug Mains

Tue, Feb 9; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Karaoke

Co-sponsored by the Ambassadors
Fri, Feb 12; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Airband

Sat, Feb 13; 8pm, Hoogenboom Center
$5

Airband Dance

Sat, Feb 13; 10pm (after Airband), Hoogenboom Center
FREE!

Steve StockmanSteve Stockman

Co-sponsored by CAS and Philosophy

"iPodic Obedience: Music to transfom your soul and society"
Mon, Feb 15; 3:30pm, Meeter Center
FREE!

Steve StockmanSteve Stockman

The Reconciliation Movement in Northern Ireland
Tue, Feb 16; 3:30pm, Meeter Center
FREE!

Eric BibbEric Bibb

An evening with Eric Bibb
Tue, Feb 16; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Purl Jam

Knitting night
Fri, Feb 19; 7pm, Fish House
FREE!

FILM: Michael Jackson's This is ItFILM: Michael Jackson's This is It

Sat, Feb 20; 7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

Do You Hear What I Hear?Do You Hear What I Hear?

Music listening: Joanna Newsom & Shuta Hasunuma
Mon, Feb 22; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Caleb Hawley & Reed WaddleCAVE CAFE: Caleb Hawley & Reed Waddle

Tue, Feb 23; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Noah & the WhaleNoah & the Whale

Fri, Feb 26; 8pm, Ladies Lit
CANCELLED

FILM: Michael Jackson's This is ItFILM: Michael Jackson's This is It

Special showing
Fri, Feb 26; 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

Rangeela After Party

Sat, Feb 27; 10pm, Fish House
FREE!

FILM: The Princess and the FrogFILM: The Princess and the Frog

Fri, Feb 26 & Sat, Feb 27; 7pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Open MicCAVE CAFE: Open Mic

Tue, Mar 2; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

IT GETS BETTER WITH AGE: ALCOHOL APPRECIATION SERIES A monk, a nurse and a student walk into a bar ...

A conversation about alcohol with Brother Cuthbert, Jayne Pettinga and Cody Cooper
Co-sponsored by Residence Life and Health Services

Thu, Mar 4; 3:30, Fish House
FREE!

Haiti Benefit Concert

Featuring Calvin musicians and artists
Fri, Mar 5; 6:30pm, Chapel
Sat, Mar 6; 2:30pm, Chapel
$3 at the door

La DisputeLa Dispute

with Paucity and Grown Ups
Fri, Mar 5; 8pm, Ladies Lit
SOLD OUT!

That 80s ClubThat 80s Club

Video DJing 80s Smash Hits!
Sat, Mar 6; 8pm, DeVos Atrium
FREE!

Chris Smith, Ragan Sutterfield & Brent AldrichChris Smith, Ragan Sutterfield & Brent Aldrich

Co-sponsored by CAS and Philosophy
Taking Pop Culture Back to the People: The Church as a Catalyst of Local Culture
Mon, Mar 8; 3:30pm, Meeter Center Lecture Hall -- FREE!

Carolina Chocolate DropsCarolina Chocolate Drops

with Chris Crown
Tue, Mar 9; 8pm, Ladies Lit
SOLD OUT!

CAVE CAFE: Pineross & Andru BemisCAVE CAFE: Pineross & Andru Bemis

Tue, Mar 9; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Joanna NewsomJoanna Newsom

with Bowerbirds
Fri, Mar 12; 8pm, Chapel
SOLD OUT!

ImaniImani

Benefit for the Sister to Sister Support Group of Gilda's Club
with special guests Rev. Dr. Mary Hulst, Rev. Dr. MaLinda Sapp, Lady Veverly E. Austin

Sat, Mar 13; 7pm, Ladies Literary Club
FREE!

Blame it on the AlcoholBlame it on the Alcohol

An interactive exploration of partying well (including root beer kegs)
Co-sponsored by Residence Life and Health Services

Mon, Mar 15; 9:00, NVW Basement
FREE!

Do You Hear What I Hear?Do You Hear What I Hear?

Music listening: Chopin & David Bazan
Mon, Mar 29; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
FREE!

David BazanDavid Bazan

with The Headlights
Tue, Mar 30; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

CAVE CAFE: Zach Vinson & Justin EamesCAVE CAFE: Zach Vinson & Justin Eames

Tue, Mar 30; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

Latin American Film Festival

Co-sponsored by Wealthy Theater, Chiaroscuro Film Series, GVSU and Aquinas College
Apr 8-10; Wealthy Theatre
FREE!

Dance Guild After Party Dance

Fri, Apr 10; 10pm, Fish House
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Berry & FriendsCAVE CAFE: Berry & Friends

Tue, Apr 13; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

A seminarian, a professor, and a brewmaster walk into a bar...A seminarian, a professor, and a brewmaster walk into a bar...

Another honest conversation about alcohol
Co-sponsored by Residence Life, Health Services & Broene Counseling

Wed, Apr 14; 3:30, Fish House -- FREE!

Student Writers Read

with Nancy Hull
Thu, Apr 15; 9pm, Library Lobby
FREE!

Kate DiCamilloKate DiCamillo

Reading and book signing
Fri, Apr 16; 4:30pm, Van Noord Arena
FREE!

Kevin YoungKevin Young

Poetry reading
Fri, Apr 16; 7pm, Ladies Literary Club
FREE!

The Welcome WagonThe Welcome Wagon

with Sleep Experiments
Fri, Apr 16; 9pm, Ladies Literary Club
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

FILM: As We ForgiveFILM: As We Forgive

Film showing followed by a conversation with the director
Sat, Apr 17; 7:00pm, Ladies Literary Club
FREE!

FILM: The Lives of OthersFILM: The Lives of Others

Sat, Apr 17; 9:00pm, Bytwerk Video Theater
FREE!

Kristin ElgersmaKristin Elgersma

Co-sponsored by CAS and Philosophy

Mon, Apr 19; 7pm, Chapel
FREE!

CAVE CAFE: Jackson Township & Jake PauwelsCAVE CAFE: Jackson Township & Jake Pauwels

Tue, Apr 20; 8pm, Fish House
FREE!

A talk on the political situation in Burma (Myanmar)A talk on the political situation in Burma (Myanmar)

Featuring guest speakers Myo Thant and Salai za thwang Lian
Fri, Apr 23; 3:30pm, Fish House
FREE!

FILM: Where the Wild Things AreFILM: Where the Wild Things Are

Sat, Apr 24; 7pm & 10pm, Commons Lecture Hall
FREE!

The Album LeafThe Album Leaf

with Sea Wolf
Tue, Apr 27; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Kevin ColeKevin Cole

Part of the 2009-2010 Calvin Artist Series
Thu, Apr 29; 8pm, Chapel
$5 w/ Calvin ID

Roller Skating Party

Co-sponsored with Global Business Brigades
Sat, May 1; 8pm, TBA
FREE!

Do You Hear What I Hear?Do You Hear What I Hear?

Live music listening: Samwise the Butcher & Evan Dice
Mon, May 3; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
FREE!

Laura MarlingLaura Marling

with The Middle East and special guest
Thu, May 6; 8pm, Ladies Lit
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

I Killed My MotherI Killed My Mother

A play by András Visky
Co-sponsored by CAS and Gender Studies

Fri, May 7; 7:30pm, Gezon Auditorium
$5 tickets

Eating in PlaceEating in Place

Co-sponsored by Office of Community Engagement and the Grand Rapids Area Council for the Humanities
Sat, May 8; 7:00pm, Bytwerk Video Theater
FREE!