2008-2009

Sam PhillipsSam Phillips

with Karisa Wilson
Mon, Sep. 8; 8pm, Gezon Auditorium
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

State of the Art

with Duffy
Tue, Sep. 9; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Iron ManIron Man

Fri, Sep. 12; 8pm, FAC
Free!

Techno dance

Sat, Sep. 13; 9pm, Lab Theater
Free!

Open mic nightCave Cafe: Open mic night

Tue, Sep. 16; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Jim WallisJim Wallis

Co-sponsored by the Paul Henry Institute and the Office of Christian Formation
Wed, Sep. 17; 8pm, FAC -- Free!

Night on the Town

Explore downtown Grand Rapids! Free or specially priced events at the UICA, GRAM, DeVos Hall, 106 Gallery, and Schuler Books.
Fri, Sep. 19; 6pm, Calvin bus stop -- Free!

RatatatRatatat

with Panther and E*Rock
Sat, Sep. 20; 8pm, FAC
SOLD OUT!

Lindsey CzechowiczCAVE CAFE: Lindsey Czechowicz

Tue, Sep. 23; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Glenn Bulthuis

Thu, Sep. 25; 8pm, FAC
$10 (group rates available)

French Film Festival: La Vie en Rose

Featuring French food after the film!
Fri, Sep. 26; 7:30pm, Bytwerk Theater
Free!

Do you hear what I hear?Do you hear what I hear?

Music listening: Califone and Uri Caine
Mon, Sep. 29; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
Free!

Sleeping at LastSleeping at Last

with members of the Calvin College orchestra
Tue, Sep 30; 8:30pm, Chapel
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation after the show]

 Zach VinsonCave Cafe: Zach Vinson

Tue, Sep. 30; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

MaracaMaraca

Sat, Oct 4; 8pm, FAC
$20 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Art Hop

Sat, Oct 4; 6:30pm, 106 Division
Free!

Under the Bed

Tue, Oct 7; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Broken Social SceneBroken Social Scene

with Land of Talk
Wed, Oct 8; 8pm, FAC
$20 public; $10 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation: 3pm, FAC226]

Fleet FoxesFleet Foxes

with Frank Fairfield
Thu, Oct 9; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
SOLD OUT!

The VisitorThe Visitor

Fri, Oct 10; 8pm, FAC
Free!

BerryCAVE CAFE: Berry

with Jolie Blanche
Tue, Oct 14; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Kary Oberbrunner

Author of A Fine Line, a modernized version of Christ and Culture by Richard Neibuhr will speak and sign books.
Wed, Oct 15; 8pm, Commons Lecture Hall
Free!

Mates of StateMates of State

with special guest
Fri, Oct 17; 9pm, FAC
$20 public; $10 w/ Calvin ID

Wall-EWall-E

Sat, Oct 18; 8pm, FAC
Free!

WovenhandWovenhand

with Crooked Saints
Tue, Oct 21; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Open mic nightCAVE CAFE: Open mic night

Tue, Oct 21; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Purl Jam

Knitting group
Thu, Oct 23; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

Do you hear what I hear?Do you hear what I hear?

Music listening: My Brightest Diamond and Gabriel Faure
Mon, Oct 27; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
Free!

Christopher Williams

Tue, Oct 28; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Masquerade Dance

Co-sponsored by Student Senate
Fri, Oct 31; 9pm, Library Lobby
Free!

willowfairCAVE CAFE: willowfair

Tue, Nov 4; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

My Brightest DiamondMy Brightest Diamond

with Clare and the Reasons
Wed, Nov 5; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

AnathalloAnathallo

with Cale Parks
Fri, Nov 7; 8pm, FAC
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Zach Vinson and Kelsey MadelynCAVE CAFE: Zach Vinson and Kelsey Madelyn

Tue, Nov 11; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

FILM: Red GoldFILM: Red Gold

Wed, Nov 12; 8pm, Ladies Lit
Free!

Dance Guild After Dance

Fri, Nov 14; 10pm, Fish House
Free!

Purl Jam

Knitting group
Sat, Nov 15; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

Open mic nightCAVE CAFE: Open mic night

Tue, Nov 18; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

FILM: The Gift of All

Dcoumentary world premier!
Wed, Nov 19; 8pm, FAC
Free!

Broadway My Way

with Jacque Rhodes
Fri, Nov 21; Noon, Fish House
Free!

International Dance Party

Fri, Nov 21; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

The Dark KnightThe Dark Knight

Sat, Nov 22; 8pm, FAC
Free!

Do you hear what I hear?Do you hear what I hear?

Music listening: Bach and Tom Waits
Mon, Nov 24; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
Free!

Which Way is Home

with Hampton
Tue, Nov 25; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Chris Bathgate and Nathan KalishCAVE CAFE: Chris Bathgate and Nathan Kalish

Tue, Dec 2; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Rosie ThomasRosie Thomas

Rosie Thomas and friends Present: A Very Rosie Christmas
with special guest Sheila Saputo

Fri, Dec 5; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
SOLD OUT!

Handmade Christmas

Sat, Dec 6; 5pm, Commons Knollcrest Room
Free!

The January SeriesThe January Series

"Open your mind to the world of ideas"
Wed, Jan 7 - Tue, Jan 27; 12.30pm, FAC
Free!

Techno dance

Fri, Jan 9; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

DOUBLE FEATURE: The Lion King & Finding NemoDOUBLE FEATURE: The Lion King & Finding Nemo

Co-sponsored by Student Senate
Sat, Jan 10; 8pm, FAC
Free!

Fiction FamilyFiction Family

Featuring Jon Foreman of Switchfoot and Sean Watkins of Nickel Creek
Wed, Jan 14; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$20 public; $10 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation after the show]

AnberlinAnberlin

with Which Way is Home
Fri, Jan 16; 8pm, FAC
$20 public; $10 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation: 3pm, FAC125]

Ice skating

Sat, Jan 17; 8pm, Rosa Parks Circle
Free!

The Blind Boys of AlabamaThe Blind Boys of Alabama

Tue, Jan 20; 8pm, FAC
$20 public; $9 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation: 4pm, FAC125]

ChangelingChangeling

Fri, Jan 23; 8pm, FAC
Free!

Purl Jam

Knitting group
Sat, Jan 24; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

Open mic nightCAVE CAFE: Open mic night

Tue, Feb 3; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

K'NaanK'Naan

with DJ Chi-Nez
Thu, Feb 5; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation after the show]

The PsaltersThe Psalters

Fri, Feb 6; 8pm, FAC
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation: 4pm, FAC224]

 Purl Jam

Knitting group
Sat, Feb 7; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

Los Campesinos!Los Campesinos!

Content line 1
Content line 2

 A Handmade Valentines Day

Sat, Feb 14; 4-6pm, Alumni Board Room
Free!

Ellery

with Summer and Starlight
Tue, Feb 17; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

BeauSoleilBeauSoleil

Wed, Feb 18; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$20 public; $9 w/ Calvin ID

Poetry Jam

Thu, Feb 19; 8pm, Fish House
Free!

AirBand

Fri, Feb 20; 8pm, Fine Arts Center
Free!

Calvin Film!

Student films, music and more!
Sat, Feb 21; 8pm, TBD
Free!

Do you hear what I hear?Do you hear what I hear?

Music listening
Mon, Feb 23; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
Free!

 Cotton Jones

with Snacktime for Benjamin
Tue, Feb 24; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Purl Jam

Knitting group
Thu, Feb 26; 7pm, Koinoinia House
Free!

Will GrayWill Gray

with Gretel
Fri, Feb 27; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince CaspianThe Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

Fri, Feb 27 & Sat, Feb 28; 8pm, Bytwerk Video Theater
Free!

Post Rangeela Dance

Sat, Feb 28; 10:30pm, Johnny's
Free!

Drum Majors for Justice

Dr. John Perkins and Dr. Paul Metzger
March 1-3; Calvin College
A series of lectures and discussions concentrating on how we talk about issues of race and class in our Christian institutions.
 

Open mic nightCAVE CAFE: Open mic night

Tue, Mar 3; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Frost / NixonFrost / Nixon

Fri, Mar 6; 11pm, Fine Arts Center
Free!

Techno Dance

Sat, Mar 7; 8pm, Lab Theater
Free!

 I Heart Lung and Ken Stead

Tue, Mar 10; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

 Artist Series: The Eisenhower Dance Ensemble

Co-sponsored by Student Activities Office
Fri, Mar 13; 8pm, Fine Arts Center
$5 w/ Calvin ID

Victor Wooten Victor Wooten

Sat, Mar 14; 8pm, FAC
$18 public; $8 w/ Calvin ID
[Conversation: 3pm, FAC125]

 Bluesmith (Julia Smith and friends)

with Ellen
Tue, Mar 17; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Do you hear what I hear?Do you hear what I hear?

Music listening
Mon, Mar 30; 3:30pm, Spoelhof Atrium
Free!

Open mic night CAVE CAFE: Open mic night

Tue, Mar 31; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Makoto FujimuraMakoto Fujimura

Thu, Apr 2; 7pm, FAC
Festival only!

The Hold SteadyThe Hold Steady

with The War on Drugs
Thu, Apr 2; 9pm, FAC
Non-festival tickets: $20

David Bazan, Baby Dee & Vic ChesnuttDavid Bazan, Baby Dee & Vic Chesnutt

Thu, Apr 2; 9pm, Ladies Literary Club
Non-festival tickets: $20

Andy Crouch Andy Crouch

Fri, Apr 3; 10.30am, FAC
Festival only!

Cornel WestCornel West

Fri, Apr 3; 7pm, Van Noord Arena
Non-festival tickets: $10

Lupe FiascoLupe Fiasco

Fri, Apr 3; 9.30pm, Van Noord Arena
Non-festival tickets: $25

Over the Rhine with Julie Lee and Aaron StrumpelOver the Rhine with Julie Lee and Aaron Strumpel

Sat, Apr 4; Fine Arts Center
Non-festival tickets: $20

Cave CafeCAVE CAFE: The Flowbs

with Scott Tyler
Tue, Apr 7; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Cave CafeCAVE CAFE: Willowfair

with Zach Vinson
Tue, Apr 14; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

Extra GoldenExtra Golden

with special guest
Fri, Apr 17; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$15 public; $5 w/ Calvin ID

Cave CafeCAVE CAFE: Berry

with illalogical spoon
Tue, Apr 21; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

The Curious Case of Benjamin ButtonThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Fri, Apr 24; 10:30pm, Fine Arts Center
Free!

Cave CafeCAVE CAFE: Bombadil

with Roland Eldridge
Tue, Apr 28; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

CoralineCoraline

Fri, May 1; 8:00pm, Fine Arts Center
Free!

The Art of Gathering Local Style

Sat, May 2; 11am - 1pm, DeVos Forum
Free!

Cave CafeCAVE CAFE: Open Mic Night

Tue, May 5; 8pm, Cave Cafe
Free!

DefianceDefiance

Fri, May 8; 8:00pm, Fine Arts Center
Free!

Bollywood Night

Sat, May 9; 7pm, KE Outdoor Circle
Free!

Spring Arts Festival

Wed, May 13; 4pm - 8pm, Commons Lawn
(Rain location: Tennis and Track building)
Free!