Calendar

Upcoming events

Here are the events coming up next from the SAO. To get the latest information on events, you can "friend" us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter.

HerSAO Film: Her

Sat, May 3; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

The Milk Carton KidsThe Milk Carton Kids

with special guest Brian Wright
Wed, May 7; 8pm, Chapel
$15 public, $5 w/Calvin ID

Buy Tickets

Lily & MadeleineLily & Madeleine

with special guest Shannon Hayden
Fri, May 9; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public, $5 w/Calvin ID

Buy Tickets
WYCE

Past Events

Now You See MeQuest Film: Now You See Me

Mon, Sep 2; 2pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
FREE

Now You See MeQuest Concert: Makeshift Prodigy

Mon, Sep 2; 7pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
FREE

The Great GatsbySAO Film: The Great Gatsby

Sat, Sep 7; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

WagonmastersDocumentary: Wagonmasters

Fri, Sep 13; 8pm, Bytwerk Theater
FREE
Q & A with Co-director Sam Smartt following the film

Sponsored by the Communication Arts and Sciences Department

Monsters UniversitySAO Film: Monsters University

Sat, Sep 14; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

the Soil & the Sunthe Soil & the Sun

with Breathe Owl Breathe
Fri, Sep 20; 10pm, Ladies Literary Club
$5 public, faculty and staff; $1 w/Calvin student ID at the door

co-sponsored with Buck Fridays

Halo 4Video Game Enclave: Halo 4

Sat, Sep 21; 7pm, Commons Lecture Hall, basement of the Commons Annex
FREE

Over the RhineOver the Rhine

with The Milk Carton Kids
Sat, Sep 21; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$20 public, Calvin faculty and staff; $10 Calvin students only


WYCE

Rollins BazanAn Evening with Peter Rollins and David Bazan

Mon, Sep 23; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$15 public ($20 at the door); $5 w/Calvin ID

Kishi BashiKishi Bashi

with Tall Tall Trees
Wed, Sep 25; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public, $5 w/Calvin ID


WYCE

videogamesVideo Game Enclave: The Meaning of Violence in Videogames. A conversation

Thu, Sep 26; 4pm, Spoelhof Center 150, directly below the Admissions Atruim

SwitchfootSwitchfoot

An Evening with Switchfoot and the premiere of their new film "Fading West."
Sat, Sep 28; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$25 public, Calvin faculty and staff; $15 Calvin students only

All Sons & DaughtersAll Sons & Daughters

with special guest Tim Timmons
Fri, Oct 11; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$10 public, $5 w/Calvin ID

co-sponsored with Campus Ministries

Pacific RimSAO Film: Pacific Rim

Sat, Oct 12; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

BioshockBioshock Infinite: A Video Playthrough

Sat, Oct 19; 7pm, Commons Lecture Hall

The Kings of SummerSAO Film: The Kings of Summer

featuring Calvin alumnus, Marc Evan Jackson
Sat, Oct 19; 8pm, Recital Hall
$2

needtobreatheNEEDTOBREATHE: The Stomping Ground Tour

with The Wild Feathers
Wed, Oct 23; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$25 public, $15 w/Calvin ID

SOLD OUT

Much Ado About NothingSAO Film: Much Ado About Nothing

Fri, Oct 25; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

ElysiumSAO Film: Elysium

Sat, Nov 9; 7pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

ShadShad

with special guest We Are The City
Mon, Nov 18; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public, $5 w/Calvin ID

Miracles of Modern ScienceMiracles of Modern Science

Fri, Nov 22; 9pm, Recital Hall
$10 public, $5 w/Calvin ID

SSMBSuper Smash Bros. Brawl & Melee

Sat, Nov 23; 7pm, Commons Lecture Hall

Diego GarciaDiego Garcia

with special guest Jenn Grant
Thu, Dec 5; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public, $5 w/Calvin ID


WYCE

About TimeSAO Film: About Time

Fri, Jan 10; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

San FerminWYCE presents with SAO: San Fermin

Thu, Jan 16; 8pm, Peter Wege Auditorium, Wealthy Street Theatre
$14 public ($16 at the door); $5 w/Calvin ID through the Wealthy Street Theatre Box Office only

WYCE

Fruitvale StationSAO Film: Fruitvale Station

Sat, Jan 18; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
FREE

co-sponsored with DCM

The BrillianceThe Brilliance

Wed, Jan 29; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public; $5 w/Calvin ID

co-sponsored with the Calvin Institute of Christian Worship

Catching FireSAO Film: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Fri, Feb 7; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

DeloreanDelorean

with special guest Until The Ribbon Breaks
Mon, Feb 17; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$15 public, $5 w/Calvin ID

Pop ScholarsPop Scholars

Fri, Feb 21; 8pm, Gezon Auditorium
$5

Four-piece improv team Pop Scholars consists of members Andy Allen, Dave Lyzenga, Matt Sterenberg, and Mike Ryskamp, all Calvin Alumni. Pop Scholars specializes in performing long-form improvisational comedy along with the more familiar short-form usually performed by Calvin Improv and River City Improv.

Long-form improv is similar to short-form in that it takes suggestions from the audience; however, the group ends up taking only one suggestion and turns it into a thirty or forty-five minute cohesive story. The stories can be chronological or use flashbacks, but they are always made up on the spot. Pop Scholars also occasionally performs original skits pre-written by one of their own members.

The ButlerSAO Film: Lee Daniels' The Butler

Sat, Feb 22; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

FrozenSAO Film: Frozen

Fri & Sat, Feb 28 & Mar 1; 7pm & 10pm, Recital Hall
$2

Cave Cafe: Brother James with Tom Hymn

Thu, Mar 6; 8pm, The Fish House

GravitySAO Film: Gravity

Fri, Mar 7; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

Expressions: Poetry Jam

Sat, Mar 8; 8pm, Chapel

co-sponsored with the Multicultural Student Development Office and Nite Life

Cave Cafe: Matt Gabriel with special guest

Thu, Mar 13; 8pm, The Fish House

The HobbitSAO Film: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Fri, Mar 14; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2

Cave Cafe: Timbre with Sipsi

Tue, Mar 18; 8pm, The Fish House

Okkervil RiverOkkervil River

with special guest Hundred Visions
Wed, Apr 2; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$20 public; $10 w/Calvin ID


WYCE

Pop Culture Lecture: Steve Stockman

The Gospel According to Mumford & Sons [Audio]
Thu, Apr 3; 12:30pm, Commons Lecture Hall
Steve will also be speaking in Chapel at 10am

Steve Stockman is from Belfast Northern Ireland and is the pastor of Fitzroy Presbyterian Church in Belfast. Fitzroy Church has been a historic and leading church towards reconciliation between Catholics and Protestants in Northern Ireland. Steve is also a pop music expert and the author of “Walk On: The Spiritual Life of U2”

The Head and The HeartThe Head and The Heart

with special guest Basia Bulat
Thu, Apr 3; 8pm, Hoogenboom Center
$30 public; $15 w/Calvin ID

The NationalThe National

with special guest My Brightest Diamond
Sat, Apr 12; 8pm, Van Noord Arena
$40 public; $15 w/Calvin ID

Julianna BarwickJulianna Barwick

with special guest Vasillus
Mon, Apr 14; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$15 public; $5 w/Calvin ID

The Lone BellowAn Evening with The Lone Bellow

Tue, Apr 15; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$15 public; $5 w/Calvin ID


WYCE

S. CareyS. Carey

with special guest White Hinterland
Tue, Apr 22; 8pm, Ladies Literary Club
$10 public; $5 w/Calvin ID


WYCE

The Lego MovieSAO Film: The Lego Movie

Sat, Apr 26; 8pm, Covenant Fine Arts Center
$2