Return to the Calvin homepage Return to the Knightfile homepage  
All things
Volleyball : MIAA Champs

The women’s volleyball team had a banner year, winning its first MIAA regular-season title since 1999, its third consecutive MIAA tournament title and advancing to the NCAA III Tour-nament round of 16 for the second straight year.

Molly KrikkeLed by head coach Amber Warners, Calvin finished the year with a 34-2 overall record, hitting the 30-win plateau for the second straight year and for the eighth time in school history. Calvin also finished unbeaten in the MIAA regular season, going 16-0 in conference play. In the MIAA tournament championship finals, Calvin defeated rival Hope in a five-game thriller. Calvin then defeated Hope in a second-round NCAA III Tournament match, with the Knights posting a 4-0 record against their rivals from Holland during the 2006 season.

Ranked 13th in the final Division III Top 25 poll of the year, Calvin’s only regular-season defeat was a five-game loss to Ohio Northern in mid-September. The Knights then rattled off 25 straight victories before falling to Wittenberg (Ohio) in the third round of the NCAA III Tournament in mid-November.

Warners was named MIAA Coach of the Year and Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year. Her players also received a plethora of postseason honors. Senior Kristen Kalb (Stow, Ohio) was named the MIAA’s Most Valuable Player and was named to the All-MIAA first team, along with juniors Molly Krikke (Greenwich, Ohio) and Katie Zondervan (Lakewood, Calif.). Senior Lorilyn Vogel (Orange City, Iowa) and sophomore Lauren DeGroot (Tulare, Calif.) were named to the All-MIAA second team, while senior Katy Luimes (Caledonia, Ont.) and freshman Kelsey Sears (Traverse City, Mich.) received honorable mention recognition from the MIAA coaches.

Kalb, Krikke, Vogel and Zondervan were named to the Great Lakes All-Region team while DeGroot received All-Region honorable mention honors. The American Volleyball Coaches Association of America named Kalb a first team All-American, while Krikke was named a second team All-American. Zondervan and Vogel also received honorable mention All-American honors.