2006 Schedule

The January Series - Speakers for 2006 Eugene Peterson - Tuesday, January 24, 2006 Paninnah Schram and Gerard Edery - Monday, January 23, 2006 James Doyle - Friday, January 20, 2006 Kathleen DeBoer - Thursday, January 19, 2006 Paul Rusesabagina - Wednesday, January 18, 2006 Linda Silverman - Tuesday, January 17, 2006 Randal M. Jelks - Monday, January 16, 2006 Lauren F. Winner - Friday, January 13, 2006 Philip Jenkins - Thursday, January 12, 2006 Juan Enriquez - Wednesday, January 11, 2006 Tim Dean - Tuesday, January 10, 2006 Paul Farmer - Monday, January 9, 2006 George Weigel - Friday, January 6, 2006 Eugene Spafford - Thursday, January 5, 2006 John Hmersma - Wednesday, January 4, 2006
The January Series - 15 days of free liberal arts education
Wed
4th

John E. Hamersma
"People, Pipes and Players"
Underwritten by: A Friend of The January Series

Thur
5th

Eugene Spafford
"You're Almost on Your Own: The State of Computer Security"
Underwritten by: J.C. Huizenga

Fri
6th

George Weigel
"Revolutionary Papacies: John Paul II, Benedict XVI, and the Future of the Catholic Church"
Underwritten by: John & Mary Loeks

Mon
9th

Paul Farmer
"Public Health & Social Justice"
Underwritten by: Priority Health

Tues 10th

Tim Dean
"Globalization of the Media: Who is Really in Control? "
Underwritten by: Huntington National Bank

Wed
11th

Juan Enriquez
"As the Future Catches You: How Genomics and Other Forces Are Changing Your Life, Work, Health & Wealth"
Underwritten by: Meijer, Inc.

Thur
12th

Philip Jenkins
"Reading the Bible in the Global South "
Underwritten by: Peter & Pat Cook

Fri
13th

Lauren F. Winner
"Real Sex: The Naked Truth about Chastity"
Underwritten by: Barnes & Thornburg

Mon
16th

Randal Maurice Jelks
"African Americans in the Furniture City"
in celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Underwritten by: John & Mary Loeks

Tues
17th

Linda Silverman
"Upside-down Brilliance"
Underwritten by: Grand Rapids Community Foundation

Wed
18th

Paul Rusesabagina
"Hotel Rwanda: A Lesson Yet to Be Learned"
Underwritten by: Varnum, Riddering, Schmidt & Howlett, LLP

* not available for Real Audio broadcast

Thur
19th

Kathleen DeBoer
"Gender & Competition: Part Two"
Underwritten by: Mercantile Bank

Fri
20th

James Doyle
"CSI: Eyewitness Memory"
Underwritten by: Spectrum Health

Mon
23rd

The Minstrel & the Storyteller
Underwritten by:
Macatawa Bank

Tues
24th

Eugene Peterson
"Eat This Book"
Underwritten by: Lawrence D. Sr & Dolores Bos

Note: A number of our archived 2006 presentations are being shown on occasion on the College Channel HETA (Comcast Channel 28 in the Grand Rapids area). For a program schedule check their website at www.grcc.tv .

Noteworthy

The January Series is held in the Calvin College Fine Arts Center.

Visitor Infomation

Parking & seating at the Fine Arts Center

All presentations begin at 12:30 PM end promptly at 1:30 PM.

Get a Free RealPlayer