Fourth Biennial Symposium
on Religion and Politics

 

 

 

The Henry Institute
Calvin College

 

April 24-26, 2008

 

 

 

Program Schedule

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, April 24

 

Thursday, April 24                                             5:00 – 6:30 p.m.  
Welcome and Light Buffet

Location: Blue Spruce/Elm

 
Thursday, April 24                                             7:15 – 9:00 p.m.
Panel 1A:   Religion and Contemporary American Politics
Location:        White Pine
Chair:             Neil Carlson, Calvin College

Competing Frameworks: The American Catholic Bishops, the Catholic Media, and the Politics of Immigration
Todd Scribner, The Catholic University of America, 81Scribner@cua.edu

Faithful Citizenship, 2004-2008: U.S. Catholic Bishops’ Evolving Engagement with American Politics
Steven Millies, University of South Carolina Aiken, stevenm@usca.edu

Evangelicals in the Iowa Caucuses: Issue Voting and the Iraq War
Kimberly Conger, Iowa State University, conger@iastate.edu

                        Discussant: Neil Carlson, Calvin College, nec4@calvin.edu


Panel 1B:   Religion and the Politics of Human Rights

Location:        Hickory
Chair:             Amy Edmonds, Baylor University

The Lullaby of Argus Panoptes: Toward a Conversation on Cosmology in Universal Human Rights
Rob Joustra, Redeemer University College, rjoustra@wrf.ca

Church-State Ties and Democratization: Catholic Human Rights Advocacy during Latin American Civil Wars
Nick Rowell, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, nrowell@unm.edu

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights: Rhetorical War on Human Rights Violation
Amanada Stek, Calvin College, amanda.stek@gmail.com

                        Discussant: Amy Edmonds, Baylor University, amy_edmonds@baylor.edu
                                  

Panel 1C:   Philosophical Reflections on Religion and Public Life
Location:        Maple
Chair:             Gordon Babst, Chapman University

Resentment and Transcendence                                              
Nathan Colborne, Nipissing University, nathanc@nipissingu.edu

The Popular English Reformation                                           
Tim Perenich, Andrews University Theological Seminary, Tp161@hotmail.com

Dimensions to Understanding ‘Natural Law’ in the Writings of Thomas Aquinas
Weiwei (Daisy) Zhang, Tsinghua University, Beijing, zweizi@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn

                        Discussant: Gordon Babst, Chapman University, gbabst@chapman.edu


Thursday, April 24                                            9:00 – 9:45 p.m.
Reception  
Location: Fireside Room

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, April 25

Friday, April 25                                                            8:45 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Panel 2A:  Religion and Civic Engagement      
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Chris McHorney, California Baptist University

Powerful Benevolence: Reflections on Religious Humanitarian Aid and its Consensus with the State
Amanda Napoli, Baylor University, Amanda_Napoli@baylor.edu

The Impact of Church-based Politicized Social Capital on Black Political Activism
R. Khari Brown, Wayne State University, kharib@wayne.edu

Faith as a Political Resource: Investigating Congregational Motivations for Engagement in Faith-based Community Organizing
Kristin Geraty, Indiana University, kgeraty@indiana.edu

           Discussant: Chris McHorney, California Baptist Univ., cmchorney@calbaptist.edu


Panel 2B:   Religion and the Perception of Others
Location:        Willow West
Chair:             Joel Westra, Calvin College

Islam: The Other World on the Fringe of Fear
Galip Beygu Isen and Ozge Ozyilmas, Istanbul Bilgi University, gbisen@bilgi.edu.tu

Evil or “Evil”?  Morality, Threat and American Foreign Policy
Mary Manjikian, Regent University, mmanjikian@regent.edu

Discussant: Joel Westra, Calvin College, jhw3@calvin.edu


Panel 2C:   An Agenda for Evangelical Political Thought
Location:        Hickory
Chair:             Paul Brink, Gordon College

            Panelists:
            Jesse Covington, Westmont College, jcovington@westmont.edu
            Bryan McGraw, Emory University (beginning Fall 2008; Wheaton College), btmcgraw@gmail.com
            Micah Watson, Union University, watsonianworks@gmail.com

                        Discussant: Paul Brink, Gordon College, paul.brink@gordon.edu


Friday, April 25                                                 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Refreshment Break           

Location: Fireside Room

 
Friday, April 25                                                 11:00 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.
Panel 3A:   Clergy and Contemporary American Politics
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Christine Brickman, Catholic University of America

Political and Social Action among American Clergy: A Study of Twenty American Christian Denominations
James Guth, Furman University, jim.guth@furman.edu

Lutherans in the 21st Century: Theology, Politics, and Worship Practice
Jeff Walz, Concordia University Wisconsin, jeff.walz@cuw.edu

Faith and Politics: Political Engagement among Pastors in Wilmington, Delaware
Brian Coleman, brianco2@sp2.upenn.edu and Ram Cnaan, cnaan@sp2.upenn.edu, Univ. of Pennsylvania

Discussant:: Christine Brickman, Catholic Univ. of America, 63brickman@cua.edu


Panel 3B:  Democratic Life and the Incorporation of “Minority” Religious Groups
Location:        Blue Spruce
Chair:             Bert de Vries, Calvin College

Hamas’s Incentives: Violent & Religious Markets in Gaza
Amy Underkofler, University of Washington, amyunder@u.washington.edu

Embracing a Common Destiny: Toward a One-State Solution in Israel-Palestine”
Phil Jackson, Calvin College, pdj2@calvin.edu

Christian Responsibility for International Peace: A Case Study of Palestinian Refugees in Lebanon
Kristine Tuinstra, Calvin College, krt3@calvin.edu

                        Discussant: Bert de Vries, Calvin College, DVRB@calvin.edu

 
Panel 3C:   Author Meets “Critics”: Discussion of Theology, Political
                    Theory, and Pluralism by Kristen Deede Johnson (Cambridge)
Location:        Hickory
Chair:             Jonathan Chaplin, Kirby Lang Institute for Christian Ethics

Paul Brink, Gordon College, paul.brink@gordon.edu

Jonathan Chaplin, Kirby Lang Institute for Christian Ethics, KLICE@tyndale.cam.ac.uk                       

Chris Miller, Institute for Christian Studies, CMiller@icscanada.edu

Kristen Deede Johnson, Hope College, johnsonk@hope.edu

 
Friday, April 25                                                 12:45p.m. – 1:45 p.m.
Lunch
Location:  White Pine/Maple


Friday, April 25                                                 2:00 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.
Panel 4A:   Issues Related to Church and State in the American Setting
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Kathryn Lee, Eastern University

A Holy Secular Institution
Perry Dane, Rutgers University School of Law—Camden, dane@crab.rutgers.edu

Federalism, Church-State Relations, and the Significance of State Blaine Amendments
David Ryden, Hope College, ryden@hope.edu

Religiosity and Tolerance in the Public Square: Attitudes toward the Relationship of Church and State in the United States
Traci L. Nelson, University of Pittsburgh, tln10@pitt.edu

                        Discussant: Kathryn Lee, Eastern University, klee@eastern.edu

 
Panel 4B:   Religion, Economic Life, and Political Development
Location:        Willow West
Chair:             Kurt Schaefer, Calvin College

 Max Weber and Islam: The Paradox of Economic Development in Islamic Societies
Ayman Reda, Grand Valley State University, redaa@gvsu.edu

Religion and Life Satisfaction among Nations
Lauren Deschamps, University of Notre Dam, ldescham@nd.edu

Public Religion and Its Application in China
Yinghua Liu, Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley, yhl9@hotmain.com

                        Discussant: Kurt Schaefer, Calvin College, schk@calvin.edu


Panel 4C: Religion, Authority, and Tolerance 
Location:        Hickory
Chair:             J. Daryl Charles, Princeton University

The Dawn of the Age of Toleration: Samuel Pufendorf and the Road Not Taken
Nicholas Miller, Andrews University Seminary, nmiller@freedom-law.com

On the Legal Toleration of Belief and Behavior                     
Kyle Swan, National University of Singapore, phisk@nus.edu.sg

Understanding Authority: Exploring its Relationship to Power and Office
David Koyzis, Redeemer University College, dkoyzis@redeemer.edu

            Discussant: J. Daryl Charles, Princeton University, jdcharle@princeton.edu


Panel 4D:   Religion and Public Policy
Location:        Blue Spruce
Chair:             Paul Cornish, Grand Valley State University

The Common Good and Education Policy in a Religiously Pluralist Society
Sarah Vester, Calvin College, sarah.vester@gmail.com

And Who is My Neighbor? Religion and Attitudes toward Immigration Policy
Benjamin Knoll, University of Iowa, benjamin-knoll@uiowa.edu

The Public Value of Religion
Craig Engelhardt, Baylor University, craig_engelhardt@baylor.edu

                        Discussant: Paul Cornish, Grand Valley State University, cornishp@gvsu.edu


Friday, April 25                                                  3:45p.m. – 4:15 p.m.                                
Refreshment Break       
Location: Fireside Room


Friday, April 25                                                  4:15 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Panel 5A:   Religion and American Political Institutions
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Jim Guth, Furman University

Religious Adherence and Equality in American Political Representation
Kasey Swanke, University of Notre Dame, kswanke@nd.edu

The Role of the Solicitor General in Church-State Cases within the Clinton and Bush Administrations: A Case Study Supporting the Politicization of the Solicitor General
Andrew Lewis, American University, al3978a@american.edu

Religiosity and Government Corruption in the American States
Pat Flavin, pflavin@nd.edu, and Richard Ledet, rledet@nd.edu, University of Notre Dame                     

                        Discussant: Jim Guth, Furman University, jim.guth@furman.edu

 
Panel 5B:   Religion and Politics in Latin America
Location:        Willow West
Chair:             Amy Patterson, Calvin College

The Dissident Cross: Catholicism and Political Confrontation in Cuba
Robert A. Portada, University of Notre Dame, rportada@nd.edu

Protestantism and Radicalism in Mexico from the 1860s to the 1930s
Daniel Miller, Calvin College, mill@calvin.edu
           
One Church, Two Paths: Explaining the Divergent Responses of the Chilean and Argentine Churches to Military Repression
Amy Edmonds, Baylor University, Amy_Edmonds@baylor.edu

          Discussant: Amy Patterson, Calvin College, apatters@calvin.edu


Panel 5C:   Religion and Social Issues
Location:        Hickory
Chair:             Steven Millies, University of South Carolina Aiken

The Social Teaching of Benedict XVI
Michael Coulter, Grove City College, MLCoulter@gcc.edu

Buyer Beware: Alexis de Tocqueville’s Warning and Consumer Culture
Brandon Wentworth, Auburn University, wentwbl@auburn.edu

Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s Political Truth and the Intimate Consequences of American Murder and Capital Punishment
James D. Slack, University of Alabama at Birmingham, jslack@uab.edu

          Discussant: Steven Millies, Univ. of South Carolina Aiken stevenm@usca.edu


Panel 5D:   Islam and Democratic Life in the West
Location:        Blue Spruce
Chair:             Tracy Kuperus, Calvin College

The Politicization of Religion in the West: Assessing the Effects of Policy Legacies and Government Construction on European Islam
Kathryn Gardner, University of Notre Dame,klawall1@nd.edu

Israel, the Arabs, and the Middle East in Presidential Memory: Carter in Comparative Perspective
D. Jason Berggren, University of Georgia,djberggren@hotmail.edu

Discussant: Tracy Kuperus, Calvin College, tlk5@calvin.edu
           

Friday, April 25                                                  6:15 – 7:45 p.m.
Dinner
Location: White Pine/Maple

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, April 26

Saturday, April 26                                    8:45 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. 
Panel 6A:   Religion and the American Civil Rights Movement
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Doug Koopman, Calvin College

Identification and Prophetic Rage: Leadership in the Civil Rights Movement
James M. Patterson, University of Virginia, jmp3r@virginia.edu

The Jericho Road and the Beloved Community: The Radical Vision of James Lawson
 Stephen Shaw, Northwest Nazarene University, skshaw@nnu.edu
                       
             Discussant: Doug Koopman, Calvin College, dkoopman@calvin.edu


Panel 6B: Religion and Politics in Orthodox Settings
Location:        Willow West
Chair:             Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University

Russian Orthodoxy under Putin: ‘Managed Democracy’ and the New Symphonia
John Anderson, University of St. Andrews, Scotland, jpa@st-andrews.ac.uk

Religious Affiliation and Its Implications for Political Orientations in Romania
Claudiu Herteliu, Alexandru Isaic-Maniu, and Bogdan Vasile Ileanu, University of Economics, Bucharest, Romania, claudiu.herteliu@gmail.com

Discussant: Vyacheslav Karpov, Western Michigan University, v.karpov@wmich.edu


Panel 6C:   Philosophical Reflections on Religion and Politics
Location:        Hickory
Chair:             Murray Jardine, Auburn University

Is “Religion” a Good Idea?                                         
Gary Glenn, Northern Illinois University, gglenn@wpo.cso.niu.edu

The Theological-Political Problem: An Arendtian Response   
Gordon Babst, Chapman University,gbabst@chapman.edu

                        Discussant: Murray Jardine, Auburn University, jardimu@auburn.edu

 
Saturday, April 26                                              10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Refreshment Break       
Location: Fireside Room

 
Saturday, April 26                                              10:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Panel 7A: Evangelicals and American Politics 
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Kim Conger, Iowa State University

From William Jennings Bryan to Jerry Falwell: The Evangelical Discovery of Conservatism
Christine Brickman, The Catholic University of America, 63brickman@cua.edu

Are Evangelicals an Ethnic Group?
Ron Stockton, University of Michigan-Dearborn, rstock@umich.edu

The Religion of Fear: The Politics of Fright in Conservative Evangelicalism
Jason C. Bivins, North Carolina State University, Jcbivins@unity.ncsu.edu

Discussant: Kim Conger, Iowa State University, conger@iastate.edu

 
Panel 7B:   Religion and Politics in the United States
Location:        Willow West
Chair:             Andrew Schlewitz, Albion College

            Religious Identity and Political Participation in the Mennonite Church USA
            Kyle Kopko, Ohio State University, kopko.5@osu.edu

           Explaining Citizen Support for Teaching Creationism in Public Schools
           John Clark, Western Michigan University, john.clark@wmich.edu

Race, Faith, and the ‘New’ Republican Party
Kenya Davis-Hayes, California Baptist University, kdavis@calbaptist.edu

                        Discussant: Andrew Schlewitz, Albion College, aschlewitz@albion.edu


Panel 7C: Religion and Democractic Theory
Location:
        Hickory
Chair:             Matthew Mendham, University of Notre Dame

The Virtue of Obedience and the Civil Conversation in Aquinas: Some Convergence with the Contemporary Trends in Democratic Theory
Paul Cornish, Grand Valley State University, cornishp@gvsu.edu

Real Reasons for Publicizing Religion
Louis Benjamin Rolsky, Claremont School of Theology, benjir@prodigy.net

At a Distance to the State: Radical Democracy and Religion  
Geoffrey Holsclaw, Marquette University, geoffrey.holsclaw@marquette.edu

                        Discussant Matthew Mendham, Univ. of Notre Dame, mmendham@nd.edu

 
Saturday, April 26                                              12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Lunch
Location:  White Pine/Maple


Saturday, April 26                                              1:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Panel 8A:  Religion and Political Issues in Historical Perspective
Location:        Willow East
Chair:             Jason Duncan, Aquinas College

The New England Society for the Suppression of Vice and Late Nineteenth-Century Moral Reform
Paul C. Kemeny, Grove City College, pckemeny@gcc.edu

The Irony of Methodist Conflict: Northern Methodists and the Civil War
Douglas Montagna, Grand Valley State University, montagnd@gvsu.edu

Discussant: Jason Duncan, Aquinas College, duncjas@aquinas.edu

 
Panel 8B:   Religion and Civic Responsibility
Location:        Willow West
Chair:             Corwin Smidt, Calvin College

A Report on the Findings of:
Pews, Prayers, and Participation: Religion and Civic Responsibility in America       
           
            Corwin Smidt, Calvin College, smid@calvin.edu
            James Penning, Calvin College, penn@calvin.edu
            Kevin den Dulk, Grand Valley State University, dendulkk@gvsu.edu

 
Saturday,  April 26                                             3:00 p.m.
Closing Refreshment Break
Location: Fireside Room
  

 

For Saturday Overnight Guests (Optional Activities)
Visit to Ford Presidential Museum
Dinner Downtown

Copies of papers presented at the Symposium are available in the Library of the Prince Conference Center during the Symposium.