Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

2013-2014 Archived Chapel Information

The 2013-2014 Chapel week follows these themes:

Monday Grow - On Mondays we grow together, listening and responding to God's Word.
Tuesday Pray - On Tuesdays we experience God's Spirit through the arts.
Wednesday Testify - On Wedesdays we testify as individuals, groups, and departments to God's work among us.
Thursday Rest- On Thursdays we rest in God's grace through meditative acts of worship.
Friday Sing - On Fridays we sing to the glory of God, claiming Christ's Lordship over our campus and world.

 

Click HERE to watch LIVE or look for recent videos not yet archived.

2013-2014 Archived Chapel Schedule & Videos

And for the most recent Chapel service, please click here

Wed, Sept 4 TESTIFY - Campus Ministries Watch
Thur, Sept 5 REST - Seeking God's Face, Reflection on Deuteronomy 28:1-6, 9-10 Watch
Fri, Sept 6 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 9 GROW - Todd Cioffi, Assistant Professor of Congregational & Ministry Studies, "You shall have no other gods..." Watch
Tues, Sept 10 EXPERIENCE - Exodus 1 Watch
Wed, Sept 11 TESTIFY - Jubilee Fellows Watch
Thur, Sept 12 REST - Seeking God's Face, Reflection on Judges 2:16-22 Watch
Fri, Sept 13 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 16 GROW - Reggie Smith, Senior Pastor of Roosevelt Park Community Church, "You shall not make for yourself an idol..." Watch
Tues, Sept 17 EXPERIENCE- Exodus 3 Watch
Wed, Sept 18 TESTIFY - LiNK (Liberty in North Korea) Watch
Thur, Sept 19 REST - Seeking God's Face, Reflection on Judges 2:16-22 Watch
Fri, Sept 20 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 23 GROW - Peter Choi, Director of Distance Learning, Calvin Theological Seminary, "You shall not misuse the name of the Lord..." Watch
Tues, Sept 24 EXPERIENCE- Exodus 5:1-6:1 Watch
Wed, Sept 25 TESTIFY - Mark Charles, Resource Development Specialist for Indigenous Worship for Calvin Institute for Christian Worship Watch
Thur, Sept 26 REST - Seeking God's Face, Reflection on 1 Samuel 22:1-5 Watch
Fri, Sept 27 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 30 GROW - Laura Smit, Associate Professor of Religion, "Remember the Sabbath day..." Watch
Tues, Oct 1 EXPERIENCE- Exodus 8:8-32 Watch
Wed, Oct 2 TESTIFY - Cultural Discerners Watch
Thur, Oct 3 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Oct 4 SING - Nate Glasper, Jr. w/ Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Oct 7 GROW - UNLEARN: Christina Edmondson, Interim Dean of Multicultural Student Development Watch
Tues, Oct 8 EXPERIENCE- Exodus 12:1-36 Watch
Wed, Oct 9 TESTIFY - UNLEARN: Kyle Lim: Growing Up Biracial Watch
Thur, Oct 10 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Oct 11 SING - Calvin Gospel Choir & Riga Gospel Choir Watch
Mon, Oct 14 GROW -David Crump, Professor of Religion, "Honor Your father and mother..." Watch
Tues, Oct 15 EXPERIENCE- Exodus 14 Watch
Wed, Oct 16 TESTIFY - Eric Nykamp, Calvin Alumnus Watch
Thur, Oct 17 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Oct 18 SING - Nick Hopkins & Alumni Team Watch
Mon, Oct 21 GROW - Rebecca DeYoung, Professor of Philosophy, "You shall not murder" Watch
Tues, Oct 22 EXPERIENCE - Exodus 16 Watch
Wed, Oct 23 TESTIFY - International Student Association (ISA) Watch
Thur, Oct 24 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Oct 25 SING - Bob Keeley & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Oct 28 GROW -Aminah Bradford, Associate Chaplain for Residence Life, "You shall not commit adultery" Watch
Tues, Oct 29 NO CHAPEL due to Academic Advising  
Wed, Oct 30 NO CHAPEL due to Academic Advising  
Thur, Oct 31 All Saints Day Observance Watch
Fri, Nov 1 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 4 GROW - Maria Cornou, Scholar in Residence, CICW, "You shall not steal" Watch
Tues, Nov 5 EXPERIENCE - Exodus 32 Watch
Wed, Nov 6 TESTIFY - Gospel Choir Trip to Guatemala Watch
Thur, Nov 7 REST - Taizé Watch
Fri, Nov 8 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 11 GROW - Kurt Schaefer, Professor of Economics, "You shall not give false testimony..." Watch
Tues, Nov 12 EXPERIENCE - Exodus 33 Watch
Wed, Nov 13 TESTIFY - Active Minds Watch
Thur, Nov 14 REST - Taizé Watch
Fri, Nov 15 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 18 GROW - Michelle Loyd-Paige, Dean for Multicultural Affairs, "You shall not envy..." Watch
Tues, Nov 19 EXPERIENCE - Exodus (Recap) Watch
Wed, Nov 20 TESTIFY - International Education Week Watch
Thur, Nov 21 REST - Taizé Watch
Fri, Nov 22 SING - VERVE Leadership Team Watch
Mon, Nov 25 SING - Thanksgiving Songfest Watch
Tues, Nov 26 EXPERIENCE - Experience Thanksgiving Watch
Wed, Nov 27 No Chapel due to Thanksgiving Break  
Thur, Nov 28 No Chapel due to Thanksgiving Break  
Fri, Nov 29 No Chapel due to Thanksgiving Break  
Mon, Dec 2 GROW - Neal Plantinga, Senior Research Fellow, CICW, John 1:14 Watch
Tues, Dec 3 EXPERIENCE - Experiencing Advent Watch
Wed, Dec 4 TESTIFY - Messiah Sing Watch
Thur, Dec 5 REST - Taizé Watch
Fri, Dec 6 SING - Christmas Carols w/ Calvin Wind Ensemble Watch
Mon, Dec 9 Prayer for Exams & Grading Watch
Wed, Jan 8 No Chapel due to weather  
Thur, Jan 9 GROW - Mary Hulst, Chaplain, "Called to be Saints" Watch
Fri, Jan 10 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Jan 13 GROW - Rev. Scott Hoezee, Director of the Center for Excellence and Preaching, "Called to Freedom" Watch
Tues, Jan 14 EXPERIENCE - Freedom, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Jan 15 TESTIFY - Sustainability Coordinators Watch
Thur, Jan 16 REST - Common Prayer - Kurt Schaefer Watch
Fri, Jan 17 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Jan 20 GROW - Mika Edmondson, Planting Pastor at New City Fellowship OPC, "Called to Suffer" MLK Day observance Watch
Tues, Jan 21 EXPERIENCE - Suffering, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Jan 22 TESTIFY - Joel Navarro, Professor of Music Watch
Thur, Jan 23 REST - Common Prayer - Kurt Schaefer Watch
Fri, Jan 24 SING - Student Worship Team and Korean Choir Watch
Mon, Jan 27 GROW - Suzanne McDonald, Assistant Professor of Religion, "Called to Hope" Watch
Tues, Jan 28 No Chapel due to Interim Exams  
Wed, Jan 29 No Chapel due to Interim Break  
Thur, Jan 30 No Chapel due to Interim Break  
Fri, Jan 31 No Chapel due to Interim Break  
Mon, Feb 3 GROW - Tarence Lauchie, Senior Pastor, Grace for the Nations Church, "Humility" Watch
Tues, Feb 4 EXPERIENCE - Humility, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Feb 5 Re-Gathering Watch
Thur, Feb 6 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Feb 7 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Feb 10 GROW - Reggie Smith, Senior Pastor, Roosevelt Park Community Church, "Contentment" Watch
Tues, Feb 11 EXPERIENCE - Contentment, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Feb 12 TESTIFY - Sexuality and Gender Awareness Watch
Thur, Feb. 13 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Feb 14 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Feb 17 GROW - Michelle Loyd-Paige, Executive Associate to the President for Diversity, "Thankfulness" Watch
Tues, Feb 18 EXPERIENCE - Thankfulness, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Feb 19 TESTIFY - Service-Learning Center 50th Anniversary Watch
Thur, Feb. 20 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Feb 21 SING - Nate Glasper Jr. with Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Feb 24 GROW - Todd Cioffi, Assistant Prof. of Congregational and Ministry Studies, "Joy" Watch
Tues, Feb 25 EXPERIENCE - Joy, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Feb 26 TESTIFY - Rev. Emmett Harris, pastor of Oakdale Park CRC Watch
Thur, Feb. 27 REST - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Feb. 28 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Mar 3 GROW - Jul Medenblik, President of Calvin Theological Seminar, "Holiness" Watch
Tues, Mar 4 EXPERIENCE - Holiness, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Mar 5 TESTIFY - Ash Wednesday, Scott Hoezee, Director of the Center for Excellence in Preaching Watch
Thur, Mar 6 REST - Taize Watch
Fri, Mar 7 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Mar 10 GROW - Laura Smit, Associate Professor of Religion, "Self-Control" Watch
Tues, Mar 11 EXPERIENCE - Self-Control, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Mar 12 TESTIFY - Project Neighborhood Watch
Thur, Mar 13 REST - Taize Watch
Fri, Mar 14 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Mar 17 GROW - Dale Cooper, Calvin Institute of Christian Worship, "Faithfulness" Watch
Tues, Mar 18 EXPERIENCE - Faithfulness - Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, Mar 19 TESTIFY - Shannon Jammal-Hollemans, Project Developer and Team Leader at the CRC Office of Social Justice Watch
Thur, Mar 20 REST - Taize Watch
Fri, Mar 21 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Mar 31 GROW - Kathy Smith, Associate Director Calvin Institute of Christian Worship, "Peace" Watch
Tues, April 1 EXPERIENCE - Peace - Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, April 2 TESTIFY - Perkins Fellows - Spring Break Trip Watch
Thur, April 3 Steve Stockman, Pastor of Fitsroy Presbyterian Church, Belfast, Northern Ireland Watch
Fri, April 4 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, April 7 GROW - Young Kim, Associate Professor of History, "Patience" Watch
Tues, April 8 EXPERIENCE - Patience - Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, April 9 TESTIFY - Sexual Assault Prevention Team with Acacia Beelen Watch
Thur, April 10 Scott Cairns, Poet and Professor of English at University of Missouri (part of the Festival of Faith and Writing) Watch
Fri, April 11 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, April 14 Holy Week - Holy Love in Foot Washing Watch
Tues, April 15 Holy Week - Holy Love in Betrayal and Denial Watch
Wed, April 16 Holy Week - Holy Love in Abuse and Mockery Watch
Thur, April 17 Holy Week - Holy Love in the Crucifixion Watch
Fri, April 18 No Chapel due to Good Friday  
Mon, April 21 No Chapel due to Easter break  
Tues, April 22 EXPERIENCE - Resurrection - Student Worship Team

Watch

Wed, April 23 TESTIFY - Engineering Department Watch
Thur, April 24 REST - Common Prayer - Kurt Schaefer Watch
Fri, April 25 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, April 28 GROW - Aaron Winkle, Assoc. Chaplain for Upperclass Students, "Gentleness" Watch
Tues, April 29 No Chapel due to Academic Advising  
Wed, April 30 No Chapel due to Academci Advising  
Thur, May 1 REST - Common Prayer - Kurt Schaefer Watch
Fri, May 2 SING - Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, May 5 GROW - Libby Huizenga, senior student, "Kindness and Goodness" Watch
Tues, May 6 EXPERIENCE - Goodness - Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, May 7 TESTIFY - Dean Proppe, Asst. Professor of Biology Watch
Thur, May 8 REST - Common Prayer - Kurt Schaefer Watch
Fri, May 9 SING - Nate Glasper Jr with Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, May 12 Worship Apprentices with Paul Ryan, Associate Chaplain for Worship Watch
Tues, May 13 EXPERIENCE - Love, Student Worship Team Watch
Wed, May 14 SING - Senior Songfest Watch
Thur,May 15 Prayer for Exams and Grading Watch

Back to the top