Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

2010-2011 Archived Chapel Information

The 2010-2011 Chapel week follows these themes:

Monday Sing a New Song -Come & learn new songs from the global Christian community & songs written by those from Calvin.
Tuesday

Proclamation - Walk through some of Jesus’ “I Am” statements in John with some excellent preachers & teachers.

Wednesday Community Voices - Hear from your Calvin community—a person, group, team, or department—as they share… “Why I Believe…”
Thursday Catch Your Breath - Slow your pace for a quite, meditative act of worship with morning prayers, Taize, art, or Lectio Divina..
Friday Songfest - Come & sing together as we raise one voice as an offering of praise & worship to our Triune God!

 

2010-2011 Archived Chapel Schedule & Videos

Wed, Sept 8 Community Voices - Campus Ministries Watch
Thurs, Sept 9 Catch Your Breath - Morning Prayer Watch
Fri, Sept 10 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 13 Sing a New Song - Chinese Song with Jocelyn Ong & Friends Watch
Tues, Sept 14 Proclamation - Mary Hulst, Phil 1:6 Watch
Wed, Sept 15 Community Voices - Kurt VerBeek, "Seeking Justice in Honduras" Watch
Thurs, Sept 16 Catch Your Breath - Taize, Karen Saupe Watch
Fri, Sept 17 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 20 Sing a New Song - "Abana in Heaven" with Emily Brink Watch
Tues, Sept 21 Proclamation - Reggie Smith, Phil 1:21 Watch
Wed, Sept 22 Community Voices - Ken Bratt, "The Ancient City of Philippi" Watch
Thurs, Sept 23 Catch Your Breath - Lectio Divina, Phil 1:12-14 Watch
Fri, Sept 24 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Sept 27 Sing a New Song - Linda and Scott Naranjo-Huebl Watch
Tues, Sept 28 Proclamation - Mary Hulst, Phil 2:3-4 Watch
Wed, Sept 29 Community Voices - French Department, Bi-lingual Chapel Watch
Thurs, Sept 30 Catch Your Breath - Arts, "Harvest of Righteousness" Watch
Fri, Oct 1 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Oct 4 Sing a New Song - "Justice Will Roll Down" with Ken Heffner Watch
Tues, Oct 5 Proclamation - David Westfall & Campus Choir, Phil 2:9-11 Watch
Wed, Oct 6 Community Voices - Lament for the Sea Watch
Thurs, Oct 7 Catch Your Breath - Morning Prayer, Phil 2:1-11 Watch
Fri, Oct 8 Songfest - Student Mike Lee and Worship Team Watch
Mon, Oct 11 Sing a New Song - "Goodness is Stronger..." with Blake de Jong Watch
Tues, Oct 12 Proclamation - Scott Hoeze, Phil 2:12-13 Watch
Wed, Oct 13 Community Voices - MSAB, Unlearn Week Watch
Thurs, Oct 14 Catch Your Breath - Dedication of Decalogue/Invitation Watch
Fri, Oct 15 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Oct 18 Sing a New Song - "Sing Praise to God," Bert Polman Watch
Tues, Oct 19 Proclamation - Todd Cioffi & Campus Choir, Phil 3:7 Watch
Wed, Oct 20 Community Voices - Spanish Chapel Watch
Thurs, Oct 21 Catch Your Breath - Lectio Divina, Phil 2:14-16 Watch
Fri, Oct 22 Songfest - Randy Wolthuis and Alumni Worship Team Watch
Mon, Oct 25 Sing a New Song - "The First Place," Matthew Westerholm Watch
Tues, Oct 26 NO CHAPEL due to Advising Break  
Wed, Oct 27 NO CHAPEL due to Advising Break  
Thurs, Oct 28 Catch Your Breath - Arts, "Labor in Lord" Watch
Fri, Oct 29 Songfest - Bob Keeley & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 1 All Saints Day Watch
Tues, Nov 2 Proclamation - Michelle Loyd-Paige, Phil 3:13-14 Watch
Wed, Nov 3 Community Voices - German Chapel  
Thurs, Nov 4 Catch Your Breath - Morning Prayers, Phil 3:17-4:1  
Fri, Nov 5 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 8 Sing a New Song - Charsie Sawyer & the Calvin Gospel Choir Watch
Tues, Nov 9 Proclamation - Kathy Smith, Phil 4:4-7 Watch
Wed, Nov 10 Community Voices - ISAC & International Band, Crossings  
Thurs, Nov 11 Catch Your Breath - Taize, Karen Saupe Watch
Fri, Nov 12 Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 15 Sing a New Song - Drum Circle w/Eric Nykamp Watch
Tues, Nov 16 Proclamation - Karen Saupe, Phil 4:8 Watch
Wed, Nov 17 Community Voices - Poetic Justice, Amanda Armour Watch
Thurs, Nov 18 Catch Your Breath - Lictio Divina Watch
Fri, Nov 19 Songfest - John Witte & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Nov 22 Sing a New Song - Thanksgiving Song & Prayers Watch
Tues, Nov 23 Proclamation - Mary Hulst, Luke 17:11-19 Watch
Wed, Nov 24 Thanksgiving Songfest - Paul Ryan & Student Worship Team Watch
Thurs, Nov 25 NO CHAPEL due to Thanksgiving Break  
Fri, Nov 26 NO CHAPEL due to Thanksgiving Break  
Mon, Nov 29 Sing a New Song - "For the Troubles & Sufferings...," Greg Scheer Watch
Tues, Nov 30 Proclamation - John Eigege, Psalm 24 Watch
Wed, Dec 1 Community Voices - Interim Commissioning  
Thur, Dec 2 Catch Your Breath - Morning Prayers Watch
Fri, Dec 3 Songfest - An Advent Hymnsing Watch
Mon, Dec 6 Sing a New Song - "Hail to the Lord's Anointed," Lynnae Keeley Watch
Tues, Dec 7 Proclamation - Mary Hulst Watch
Wed, Dec 8 Community Voices - Handel's Messiah Singalong Watch
Thur, Dec 9 Catch Your Breath - Arts, "Appearance to the Shepherds" Watch
Fri, Dec 10 Songfest - A Christmas Hymnsing Watch
Dec 11-Jan 4 NO CHAPELS due to Christmas Break  
Wed, Jan 5 Have a Habit - “Putting on Christ Takes Practice,” James K.A. Smith Watch
Thur, Jan 6 Have a Habit - Do You Hear What I Hear? Attentive Listening to Music as Spiritual Practice. Ken Heffner Watch
Fri, Jan 7 Habits of Worship - Gathering Watch
Mon, Jan 10 Have a Habit- Intercessory Prayer, Sharon Bytwerk Watch
Tues, Jan 11 Have a Habit - Bible Study, Mary Hulst Watch
Wed, Jan 12 Have a Habit- Sabbath Keeping, Andy McCoy & Dave Hoogstra Watch
Thur, Jan 13 Have a Habit- Riding the Rapid, Bill Corner, Jeff Stob, & Dan Vandersteen Watch
Fri, Jan 14 Habit of Worship - Listening Watch
Mon, Jan 17 Have a Habit - Walking for Justice, Noah Kruis Watch
Tues, Jan 18 Have a Habit - Sanctuary: How Actions & Objects Can Open Pilgrimage Spaces with God, Jo-Ann Van Reeuwyk & Debra Buursma Watch
Wed, Jan 19 Have a Habit - Mentoring Relationships, Lisa Jousma Watch
Thur, Jan 20 Have a Habit - Mindful Eating, Dave Warners, Gail Heffner, & Michelle Loyd-Paige Watch
Fri, Jan 21 Habit of Worship - Sending Watch
Mon, Jan 24 Have a Habit - The Psalms Project: Singing the Psalms Watch
Mon, Jan 31 Sing a New Song! - John Eigege, based on Psalm 90 Watch
Tues, Feb 1 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am the living bread" John 6:51, Mary Hulst, College Chaplain Watch
Wed, Feb 2 NO CHAPEL - Calvin Closed Due to Snow  
Thur, Feb 3 Catch Your Breath - Arts, "Miracles" Watch
Fri, Feb 4 Songfest - Student Worship Team led by Worship Apprentices Watch
Mon, Feb 7 Sing a New Song! - Joella Ranaivoson, a Malagasy song Watch
Tues, Feb 8 ReGathering 2011 Watch
Wed, Feb 9 Community Voices: "Why" Series - Semester in Ghana Students Watch
Thur, Feb 10 Catch Your Breath - Taize Watch
Fri, Feb 11 Songfest - Student Worship Team led by Worship Apprentices Watch
Mon, Feb 14 Sing a New Song! - Julia Start, "Halleluya from Zimbabwe Watch
Tues, Feb 15 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am from above" John 8:23, David Crump Watch
Wed, Feb 16 Community Voices: "Why" Series - Spiritual Strengths Training Interim Class Watch
Thur, Feb 17 Catch Your Breath - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Feb 18 Songfest - Student Worship Team led by Worship Apprentices Watch
Mon, Feb 21 Sing a New Song! - Adel Abadeer, "Salaam/Peace" from Egypt Watch
Tues, Feb 22 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "before Abraham was, I am" John 8:58, Suzanne McDonald Watch
Wed, Feb 23 Community Voices: "Why" Series - Campus & Seminary Choir Watch
Thur, Feb 24 Catch Your Breath - Morning Prayers Watch
Fri, Feb 25 Songfest - Student Worship Team led by Worship Apprentices Watch
Mon, Feb 28 Sing a New Song! - Chan Min Anh, "Jesus, We Enthrone You" a Korean song Watch
Tues, Mar 1 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am the gate" John 10:9, Mary Hulst, College Chaplain Watch
Wed, Mar 2 Community Voices: "Why" Series - Sexual Assault Prevention Team Watch
Thur, Mar 3 Catch Your Breath - Arts, Julia Start Watch
Fri, Mar 4 Songfest - Bob Keeley, Worship Apprentices, & Student Worship Team Members Watch
Mon, Mar 7 Sing a New Song! - Julia Start w/Philip & Sarinah Djung, "The Church that Is One," an Indonesian song Watch
Tues, Mar 8 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am the light of the world" John 8:12, Katrina Schaafsma, Calvin Theological Seminary Student Watch
Wed, Mar 9 Ash Wednesday Service - Kurt Schaefer Watch
Thur, Mar 10 Catch Your Breath - Taize Watch
Fri, Mar 11 Songfest - Student Worship Team led by Worship Apprentices Watch
Mon, Mar 14 Sing a New Song! - The Psalters Watch
Tues, Mar 15 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am God's Son" John 10:36, Matthew Lundberg Watch
Wed, Mar 16 Community Voices: "Why" Series - PreachSista!, Michelle Loyd-Paige Watch
Thur, Mar 17 Catch Your Breath - Lectio divina Watch
Fri, Mar 18 Songfest - Student Worship Team led by Worship Apprentices Watch
Mar 21-25 NO CHAPELS due to Spring Break  
Mon, Mar 28 Sing a New Song! - Robert Nordling, Spontaneous Song in the Spirit Watch
Tues, Mar 29 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am the resurrection and the life" John 11:25, Mariano Avila Watch
Wed, Mar 30 Community Voices: "Why" Series - The Engineering Department Watch
Thur, Mar 31 Catch Your Breath - Morning Prayers Watch
Fri, Apr 1 Songfest - Julia Smith w/Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Apr 4 Sing a New Song! - Julia Start, "Anytime & Anywhere," a Japanese song Watch
Tues, Apr 5 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am the way, the truth, and the life" John 14:6, Laura Smit Watch
Wed, Apr 6 Community Voices: "Why" Series - Sexuality Awareness, Gender Acceptance (SAGA) Watch
Thur, Apr 7 Catch Your Breath - Arts Chapel w/Women's Chorale Watch
Fri, Apr 8 Songfest - Agents of Future (Festival of Faith & Music) at CFAC Watch
Mon, Apr 11 Sing a New Song! - Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove Watch
Tues, Apr 12 Proclamation: "I AM..." Series - "I am the true vine" John 15:1, Brian Madison Watch
Wed, Apr 13 Community Voices: "Why" Series - Interim to India Class Watch
Thur, Apr 14 Catch Your Breath - Taize Watch
Fri, Apr 15 Songfest - Worship Apprentices & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, Apr 18 Holy Week - In the Garden Watch
Tues, Apr 19 Holy Week - At the Trial Watch
Wed, Apr 20 Holy Week - On the Cross Watch
Thur, Apr 21 Holy Week - Near the Tomb Watch
Fri, Apr 22 NO CHAPELS due to Good Friday Break  
Mon, Apr 25 Sing a New Song - Hallelujah Global Songfest Watch
Tues, Apr 26 NO CHAPELS due to Advising Break  
Wed, Apr 27 NO CHAPELS due to Advising Break  
Thur, Apr 28 Catch Your Breath - Lectio Divina Watch
Fri, Apr 29 Easter Songfest - Worship Apprentices & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, May 2 Senior Stories - John Lyzenga Watch
Tues, May 3 Senior Stories - Bethany Sanders Watch
Wed, May 4 Senior Stories - Kim Wigboldy Watch
Thur, May 5 Catch Your Breath - Arts: Dance & Campus Choir Watch
Fri, May 6 Songfest - Worship Apprentices & Student Worship Team Watch
Mon, May 9 Intro to Psalm Study & Songs Watch
Tues, May 10 Prayer & Blessing for Faculty/Staff who are leaving Watch
Wed, May 11 Senior Songfest Watch