Return to the Calvin College homepage Return to the President's Report 2003 homepage

Regional Councils

Advising Strategically

Three regional councils have been established at Calvin as part of a program that was initiated in fall 2001. Serving as advisors to the college, council members are Calvin alumni and friends who are invited by the president and the chair of the Board of Trustees to counsel and advise Calvin's administration on programming and college advancement. Members' career experiences, personal expertise, and professional achievement contribute to the work of the councils.

Twice each academic year, council members convene on campus to review departments, programs, and special activities. And they serve an important role as ambassadors for Calvin—promoting the college and its mission within their home regions.

The primary purpose of the regional councils is to carry out, on an ongoing basis, external review and recommendations on the programs and potential of Calvin. Periodically, the regional councils will present reports to the Board of Trustees, based on their observations of the work of the college.

In his opening presentation to regional council members, President Byker said, "It is my hope that the regional councils will help us look at ourselves more critically; serve as a ‘sounding board,' allowing us to debate new ideas; provide an external/regional perspective; and offer advice, expertise, and valuable criticism."


 North Central Regional Council
 [North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Wisconsin]

Mary A. Andringa '72
Council Chair
Pella, IA

James R. Gage '60
North Oaks, MN

Mary Gage '60
North Oaks, MN

Eric E. Hobbs '82
Milwaukee, WI

James C. Jacobsen
Creve Coeur, MO

Jane M. Brasser Shaver '82
Cedarburg, WI

Douglas M. Steenland '73
Minneapolis, MN

Gerald A. Talen '49
Menomonie, WI

Henry D. Tazelaar '78
Rochester, MN

Steven D. Westra
Princeton, WI

John L. Witvliet '64
Sioux Center, IA


 Midwest Regional Council
 [Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee]

Bastian A. Knoppers '71
Council Chair
Oak Brook, IL

Brian A. Boomsma '79
Munster, IN

Loren D. Buurma '75
Willard, OH

Robert L. Decker '69
Louisville, KY

Don A. DeGraff '73
South Holland, IL

Glen D. Dobben '49
Michigan City, IN

Gordon S. Hassing '64
Cincinnati, OH

Terry F. Hoogenboom
Goshen, IN

Christine J. Mastandrea '87
Waite Hill, OH

Esther H. Rehmus '77
Peninsula, OH

Philip J. VanReken '78
Lombard, IL

Thelma F. Venema '62
Crown Point, IN

Nicholas J. Vogelzang, Jr.
Western Springs, IL

Paul J. Zwier, Jr. '76
Knoxville, TN


 Northeast Regional Council
 [Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Delaware, New Jersey, Maryland, Washington D.C., Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Virginia]

Dirk Pruis '82
Council Chair
Glen Rock, NJ

Kenneth Bloem '68
Washington, DC

William Bogertman '74
North Haledon, NJ

Alexander Dragt '58
Silver Spring, MD

Gerald Gabrielse '73
Lexington, MA

Mary Huizenga '84
Alexandria, VA

Donald Koopman '59
Whitinsville, MA

Marvin Kosters '60
Clifton, VA

Gary Lenderink '71
New York, NY

Frederick Sievert
Stamford, CT

Harry Stout, III '69
New Haven, CT

Catherine Vander Brug '64
Lexington, MA

David Visbeen '78
Midland Park, NJ

Robert Voogt '72
Virginia Beach, VA

John Waanders '81
New York, NY

Brian Wispelwey '76
Charlottesville, VA

Previous | Next

Midwest Regional Council - Click image to enlarge view
Midwest Regional Council