Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

News and Events: 2014 Scholarship Reception

Every year during the Spring semester the political science department host an award ceremony and reception. This gathering celebrates the recipients of the departmental scholarships and the inductees into Pi sigma Alpha. The invitation is extended to each recipient, parents of the recipients, friends of the recipients, all students who are political science majors or minors and to the donor or family representative of each scholarship to be awarded. The pictures are from the reception held April 24, 2014. Students unable to attend were Ian Graham, recipient for the DeKryger-Monsman Scholarship; and Mark Greidanus and Erick Kraayeveld, Pi Sigma Alpha inductees.

Students arrival at reception
Students arriving at reception
Prof. Pelz and Abigail Schutte
Prof. Pelz presents Abigail Schutte the Dr. James Penning Scholarship Certificate.
Prof. Westra, Ben Bilgen, Mr. Hoffman
Prof. Westra, Ben Bilgen, recipient of Peace and Justice Scholarship and donor, Mr. Paul Hoffman.
Alden Hartopo and Prof. Pyle
Prof. Pyle presents Alden Hartopo The Dr. Charles Strikwerda Scholarship certificate.
Jae Eun Chang  and Prof. den Dulk
JaeEun Chang The Voskuil Family Scholarship recipient and Prof. den Dulk.
Colin Chesla and Prof. den Dulk
Prof. denDulk presents Colin Chesla The Johan & Wilma Westra Scholarship certificate.
Alicia Smit and Prof. denDulk
Alicia Smit, recipient of the Bernard Zylstra Scholarship, and Prof. denDulk.
Alicia Smit, Alden Hartopo, HaEun Nam and Prof. McBride
Pi Sigma Alpha inductees, Alicia Smit, Alden Hartopo and HaEun Nam with Prof. McBride.