Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Lecture Series: The Jellema Lectures

About the Jellema Lectures

William Harry Jellema

William Harry Jellema (1893-1982) was the founder of Calvin's Philosophy Department. A brilliant and inspiring teacher, Professor Jellema graced the college with his presence from 1920 to 1936, and again--after a 12-year stint at the University of Indiana--from 1948 to 1963. Together with his colleagues, he produced a generation of students for which Calvin's Philosophy Department has justly won national--indeed, international--recognition. Jellema has the unique honor of having three of his students elected President of the American Philosophical Association, and two of his students delivering the prestigious Gifford Lectures. In the words of a former student, Kenneth Konyndyk, Jellema was everything a professor should be: "stately, dignified, erudite, insightful, and thoroughly in command of his subject." A brief account of his career is presented on the walls of the Philosophy Department.

To hear Nicholas Wolterstoff's lecture, "How Calvin Fathered the Renaissance in Christian Philosophy," and to view a pictorial history of the Calvin College Philosophy Department, visit the college's 125th Anniversary Celebration page.

Past Lecturers

2014: Timothy O'Connor, Indiana University
2013: Norman Wirzba, Duke Divinity School
2012: Jean Porter, University of Notre Dame
2011: Michael Murray, John Templeton Foundation
2010: Jean Bethke Elshtain, University of Chicago Divinity
2009: Nancey Murphy, Fuller Theological Seminary
2008: Allan Verhey, Duke Divinity School
2007: Brian Leftow, Oxford University
2006: Jeffrey Stout, Princeton University
2005: Scott MacDonald, Cornell University
2004: Peter VanInwagen, University of Notre Dame
2003: Calvin Seerveld, Institute for Christian Studies
2002: Azizah al-Hibri, Virginia Commonwealth Law School
2001: Sarah Coakley, Harvard Divinity School
2000: Julia Annas, University of Arizona
1999: Merold Westphal, Fordham University
1998: Gordon Graham, University of Aberdeen
1997: Hilary Putnam, Harvard University
1996: Linda Zagzebski, Loyola Marymount University
1995: Robert M. Adams, Yale University
1994: Kenneth J. Konyndyk, Calvin College
1993: Arthur F. Holmes, Wheaton College
1992: Marilyn McCord Adams, UCLA
1991: Bas van Fraassen, Princeton University
1990: Ralph McInerny, University of Notre Dame
1989: Eleonore Stump, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
1988: Richard Swinburne, Oxford University
1987: J.R. Lucas, Oxford University
1985: Henry J. Stob, Calvin Theological Seminary