Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

2009 Beversluis Award Winners

The 2008-2009 Beversluis Award in Christian Philosophy of Education recipients are Megan Kouwe and Jenna Hulsebos.

Jenna completed the Elementary Education Program and will teach second grade at Eastern Christian School in Midland Park, NJ.

Megan completed the Secondary Education Program with a math major. She will teach at Valley Christian High School in Cerritos, CA.

This award is given in honor of the late Dr. N. Henry Beversluis, a long time professor of the philosophy of education courses at Calvin College (1966-1979). Dr. Beversluis had previously served as a teacher and principal in several Christian schools. The aim of the award is to foster responsible thinking among students about Christian schooling in contemporary society and is given to students who best exemplify and express their Christian philosophy of education as determined by current professors of the philosophy of education course.

Congratulations to this year's recipients!